"Manage with..." Open file/folder with specific program in context menu

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
marcosete

"Manage with..." Open file/folder with specific program in context menu

Post by marcosete »

Hello.

I can't find if this topic has been already discussed here. May I ask someone to help me, please?
I am a photographer and I use Everything a lot to search for my pictures in my computer, either by the name of the folder or the filename.

My question is as follows:

In Everything, in the listed results after a search, how can I set an option in the context menu that lets me browse the selected folder/file in an external specific program?

For example:
1. In Everything, I do a search for "France".
2. In the results, all the folders and files containing the word "France" appear.
3. I select a specific folder, lets say "France Summer 2015", as I want to browse it with my external program "ACDSee" (image manager), rather than opening ir in the Windows Explorer.
4. It would be nice to have a "Manage with..." or "Open with..." option in the context menu of Everything that lets you do that, opening this folder in ACDSee automatically, rather that doing it manually everyting copying and pasting the path.

Could someone out there with better skills than me help me? I hope so.
Thank you so much.
Marcos.
horst.epp

Re: "Manage with..." Open file/folder with specific program in context menu

Post by horst.epp »

Use Tools / Option / Context Menu
set the Open Path entry.
Here for example my entry for Total Commander file manager:
$exec("c:\Tools\Wincmd\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /o /t /A /S "%1")

It should be easy to adapt that for your program.
marcosete

Post by marcosete »

Hello Horst,

Thank you very much for your reply.
I have accurately followed the steps that you indicate, but it does not work. I mean, it does open the external program, but it does not open on the path of the selected file or folder.
This is what I did: