A more visible "Filter" indicator

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
MichaelF
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:47 am

A more visible "Filter" indicator

Postby MichaelF » Wed Nov 15, 2017 11:21 am

Perhaps the element of the status bar that shows active filters could be moved to a more prominent position?

The bottom right of a dialog box is the part users are least likely to look at.
Or a simple symbol could be added to the GUI, e.g. close to the search box, as a reminder that filters are currently active?

It has happened to me more than once that I entered a search term, didn't get any results, and then tried refining it again and again, in vain
because a non-matching filter from past searches was still turned on. :roll:

Stamimail
Posts: 607
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: A more visible "Filter" indicator

Postby Stamimail » Wed Nov 15, 2017 12:57 pm

Try to configure your Home tab.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5867
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=5760&p=16025#p16025
I think the default values should be changed.

MichaelF
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:47 am

Re: A more visible "Filter" indicator

Postby MichaelF » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:08 pm

Thanks for the reply, I changed the "Home" tab options accordingly.
Moreover, it seems that the user requests for a more prominent "Filters" display have in fact already been granted:

- on the main menu, open "View"
- toggle the "Filters" option on
- a drop-down list with the currently active filter will appear at the right end of the search box
- problem solved!

Once again, an well-known rule in software development has been proven:
most users will only bother to learn a fraction of the features the developers provide.
:oops:

Stamimail
Posts: 607
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: A more visible "Filter" indicator

Postby Stamimail » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:21 pm

I think you are right.
Both of features should be changed in the default behaviour.
It's more easy to disable filter bar, than to find it...


Return to “Suggestions”