Everything and Total Commander

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
thanksforeverything
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:52 pm

Everything and Total Commander

Post by thanksforeverything » Wed Sep 02, 2015 8:09 pm

Hi! My problem is this:
For every version of Everything after version 1.2.1.371 (stable) I cannot make Everything search results (files or folders) open in Total Commander which I use and love
in conjuction with Everything. In version 1.2.1.371 everything worked fine after adding these lines in everything.ini:

explore_folder_command=$exec("%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" /n,/e,"%1")
explore_folder_path_command=$exec("%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" /n,/e,/select,"%1")
open_folder_path_command=$exec("c:\totalcmd64\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /O /T "$parent(%1)")
open_file_command=$exec("c:\totalcmd64\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /O /T /L="%P" "%1")
open_folder_command=$exec("c:\totalcmd64\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /O /T "%1")

In newer versions the program seems to ignore the above lines.
I've tried adding them both to the installation folder (everything.ini) and the (newer?) %AppData% ini file with no success.
Any help is welcome.

ET

P.S.
Congratulations to the developers of Everything!
It's a wonderfull piece of software!


Elias

thanksforeverything
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 7:52 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by thanksforeverything » Wed Sep 02, 2015 9:52 pm

Found it!
Sorry for being so dumb, but I had no idea that Context menu command can be (probably must be!) entered through
the Options Menu! Super easy and convenient.

For anyone else wondering go to Tools->Options->Context Menu and enter the command
to the box at the bottom. For me this was

$exec("c:\totalcmd64\TOTALCMD64.EXE" /O /T /L="%1")

for the Open Folders, Open Files, Open Path

which opens a new tab on the *Left* panel and focuses on the File (when Opening Files).

Again thanks for your wonderful software!

Elias

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by irish » Wed Sep 21, 2016 1:01 pm

Hi Elias.
I tried that.
My tc program
Actually ultra prime version is on my h drive
So I typed
$exec(h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe)/O /T /L="%1")
I put into the open files/open folders/open path of the context.
But when i try to open a folder, i get "windows cannot find H:\program

therube
Posts: 2884
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by therube » Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:11 pm

Put the path in quotes.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by irish » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:24 pm

Thank you
I tried
$exec("h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="%1")
but get the message that windows can't find the path

therube
Posts: 2884
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by therube » Wed Sep 21, 2016 7:35 pm

If you go to a C: prompt & type:

Code: Select all

C:\>  "h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe"
What happens?

therube
Posts: 2884
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by therube » Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:39 pm

I'm not sure just what "ultra prime" is, likewise, "TCUP.exe", but if its a "shell" then maybe the parameters it can accept, if any, are going to be different from what "Total Commander" aka "TOTALCMD.EXE" accepts?

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by irish » Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:03 pm

tcup is short for total commander ultra prime.
It;s total commander with more bells and whistles
http://tcup.pl/

I opened a dos window in c drive
copied and pasted
"h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe"

the program opened.

therube
Posts: 2884
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by therube » Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:10 pm

Likewise, what does this do?

Code: Select all

C:\>  "h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="C:\WINDOWS"
Also try C:\WINDOWS\ (with the closing slash) or some other directory that you may have available.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by irish » Thu Sep 22, 2016 2:27 am

"h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="C:\WINDOWS
opened total commander

C:\WINDOWS\ "h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="C:\WINDOWS"

opens windows explorer

etc
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:17 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by etc » Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:48 am

irish wrote:I tried
$exec("h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="%1")
but get the message that windows can't find the path
Not sure, but did you try:

Code: Select all

$exec("h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="""%1""")
When you need a " within the parameter string, use """.

By the way, the CMD window also accepts file/folder drag-dropping.

etc
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:17 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by etc » Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:09 am

Sorry, wrong.
Might should be:

Code: Select all

$exec("h:\Program Files (x86)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L=""""%1"""")

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by irish » Thu Sep 22, 2016 12:07 pm

tried that in windows and Everything
Windows cannot find etc etc

Maybe it's time to call it a day on this one.

"By the way, the CMD window also accepts file/folder drag-dropping."
I'm not quiet sure how that would help. But thank you.

Most of the time it would be files I would looking for.
Of course the simplest thing would be if right clicking on a folder would give you the option to open a folder in TCup.

etc
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 7:17 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by etc » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:00 pm

All of us ignored Everything's tooltip...
So it should be:

Code: Select all

$exec("h:\Program Files $(x86$)\TC UP\TCUP.exe" /O /T /L="%1")

therube
Posts: 2884
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by therube » Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:08 pm

Oh, '$(' & '$)', yep, the tooltip says that will be need if you use parens.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: Everything and Total Commander

Post by irish » Thu Sep 22, 2016 6:19 pm

Wow. that worked.
Thank you
and thank you everybody for your patience.

Post Reply