how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

General discussion related to "Everything".
Post Reply
damner
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 11:55 pm

how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by damner » Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:32 am

url protocol is enabled.
i can do the search by typing "es:"
but how can i add it as a search engine?

thanks

therube
Posts: 3612
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by therube » Fri Aug 09, 2013 1:20 am

How did URL Protocol escape me ?!!!


Here is a bookmarklet that should search for the highlighted term in Everything:

Code: Select all

javascript:Qr=document.getSelection();if(Qr)location.href='es:'+(Qr)
(In my original version, if nothing were highlighted it would prompt for <string> to search for, but that part no longer seems to work, so I removed it.)

therube
Posts: 3612
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by therube » Fri Aug 09, 2013 1:26 am

Note that in FF23, they made a change in that your selected Search Engine will also be the search engine used for URL bar searches.

In earlier versions they could be different.
There is an extension available that will work like the old method.

myf
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:21 am

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by myf » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:29 pm

For those interested, I whipped up a quick howto for setting up Everyhing http server search (not es: protocol yet) as Firefox search engine.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... engine.htm
Maybe tweaking open search description xml to use es: protocol would also work, but I cannot test it right now.

therube
Posts: 3612
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by therube » Fri Aug 29, 2014 11:13 am

Slight modification to the above bookmarklet:

Code: Select all

javascript:Qr=document.getSelection();if(!Qr){void(Qr=prompt('Registry%20entry%20to%20find:',''))}if(Qr)location.href='es:'+(Qr);void(0)

therube
Posts: 3612
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by therube » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:25 pm

Currently, its whittled down to:

Code: Select all

javascript:Qr=document.getSelection();if(Qr)location.href='es:'+(Qr);void(0)

therube
Posts: 3612
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by therube » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:59 pm

Separately, if you want to search the "basename" of a web page URL, http://www.voidtools.com/forum/viewtopi ... 764#p17764

therube
Posts: 3612
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by therube » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:45 pm

Note that the "Everything Search URL protocol" option needs to be enabled in Everything.

Everything Options | General -> URL protocol

Cleoss
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:10 am

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by Cleoss » Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:08 pm

therube wrote:Note that the "Everything Search URL protocol" option needs to be enabled in Everything.
Everything Options | General -> URL protocol
Thanks for advice! I didn't know what was that URL-protocol for. I don't use Mozilla, I prefer Chrome. But the string "es:smth" searches nothing in Chrome browser (redirects me to Google search page, maybe need to switch the http-server on?), but it works fine inside the Windows Explorer's address bar. The good solution for fast opening the Everything from my fav Image Clover Explorer!
Image

redwood
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 2:32 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by redwood » Fri Jun 24, 2022 8:44 am

how to disable this message in Firefox?
ev.png
ev.png (5.06 KiB) Viewed 3648 times

void
Developer
Posts: 10845
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by void » Fri Jun 24, 2022 8:51 am

To disable ES links:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the General tab on the left.
  • Uncheck URL protocol.
  • Click OK.
-or-

To always open ES urls with Everything:

redwood
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 2:32 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by redwood » Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:44 pm

actually, I always want to open es urls without ask. I've found a solution
about:config >> security.external_protocol_requires_permission >>false
thank you for your reply

NotNull
Posts: 3919
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by NotNull » Fri Jun 24, 2022 2:18 pm

Thank you for sharing your solution, @redwood!


NotNull
Posts: 3919
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: how to add everything as a search engine in firefox?

Post by NotNull » Mon Aug 15, 2022 8:02 pm

An alternative would be to use Textify.

Forum user @tuska wrote details and instructions on the Total Commander forum here

Post Reply