There's no way to AND filters with the sidebar

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
spooky
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2022 7:16 am

There's no way to AND filters with the sidebar

Post by spooky »

I made a filter to temporarily omit a folder using !"D:/XYZ" as the search. I tried to combine it with the video filter holding down CTRL in the sidebar but it just ORs.

It does work using macros names, e.g. typing "excFolderXYZ: video:" in the search bar.

I'm using 1.5.0.1360a (x64).
I changed the post title because the issue wasn't related to what I wrote, thanks void!
Last edited by spooky on Sat Nov 25, 2023 11:32 pm, edited 3 times in total.
void
Developer
Posts: 15663
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Selecting multiple custom filters using sidebar doesn't work

Post by void »

Everything currently ORs filters when holding down Ctrl.

I have on my TODO list to add a way to AND filters.



For now, please use excFolderXYZ: video: in the search bar.



There's also Omit Results.
spooky
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2022 7:16 am

Re: There's no way to AND filters with the sidepanel

Post by spooky »

Thanks, I changed the post title and content to reflect the actual issue.

Omit Results would work here but it's not as great as filters because it's easier to toggle the later with the filter sidebar.
void
Developer
Posts: 15663
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: There's no way to AND filters with the sidebar

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1361a adds a and-filter: search modifier.

Multiple selected filters are ORed by default.

Filters with a search containing and-filter: are ANDed.



To make your excFolderXYZ filter an AND filter:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Search menu, click Organize filters....
  • Select your excFolderXYZ filter.
  • Click Edit....
  • Add the following to the start of the filter search:
    and-filter:

    (please make sure there's a space after and-filter: )
  • Click OK.
  • Click OK.
Spire
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2022 1:25 am

Re: There's no way to AND filters with the sidebar

Post by Spire »

This works great! Thank you for implementing it.

However, in the status bar, and-filter: filters are still shown with a vertical bar before them, which to me implies an “or” operation. Maybe change this to an ampersand?
void
Developer
Posts: 15663
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: There's no way to AND filters with the sidebar

Post by void »

I will consider showing & or a space instead of | for ANDed filters.

Thank you for the feedback and suggestion.
Post Reply