Firstly, the feature of restoring previous sessions is massively useful, thanks!
It would be very nice if we could also save/load & "bookmark" sessions (similar to IDE workspaces).
There are certain combinations of search tabs that are common or frequently used across various workflows / similar projects, so saved session "profiles" would be a very useful way of quickly grouping & loading those all at once to jump right in.
Saved Sessions (like profiles)
-
void
- Developer
- Posts: 20365
- Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm
Re: Saved Sessions (like profiles)
Thank you for your feedback howiec,
I will consider saving and restoring specific sessions from the UI in a future version of Everything.
Thank you for the suggestion.
For now, this can be done manually by copying your Session.json file (Session-1.5a.json for the alpha version)
Load your session from a bookmark with the /restore-session search command or from the command line with -restore-session
Sessions
I will consider saving and restoring specific sessions from the UI in a future version of Everything.
Thank you for the suggestion.
For now, this can be done manually by copying your Session.json file (Session-1.5a.json for the alpha version)
Load your session from a bookmark with the /restore-session search command or from the command line with -restore-session
Sessions
-
howiec
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2025 1:44 pm
Re: Saved Sessions (like profiles)
Much thanks void!void wrote: Tue Nov 04, 2025 9:05 pm[...]
For now, this can be done manually by copying your Session.json file (Session-1.5a.json for the alpha version)
Load your session from a bookmark with the /restore-session search command or from the command line with -restore-session
-
vertigo
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:27 pm
Re: Saved Sessions (like profiles)
Just want to +1 this. I requested this feature a couple years ago in the main sessions thread, but it never received a response. I actually put off updating the past couple years just because I was worried that the session might get lost in the process (never checked to see if there was a file that could be manually backed up, and only finally did because I was tired of running such an old version). Having this ability would not only give confidence in being able to update without losing data, but would allow having different sessions for different things and also would protect against accidental loss of a session if Everything is closed, launched, and closed again without restoring the previous session first.