BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
nikov
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2021 10:31 am

BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by nikov »

Hi,
Preview pane double click open is not working recently.

Thank you.
void
Developer
Posts: 15983
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by void »

I ran into this too.

It will be fixed in the next alpha update.

Thanks for letting me know.
void
Developer
Posts: 15983
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1379a improves the preview pane.

Double click will now open the selection.

Right clicking an unselected result will now select and preview that result.

Fixed an issue where the preview pane would flash White when first shown or resized.

Clicking on the preview pane title bar will no longer focus the preview pane if focus is not wanted.
horst.epp
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by horst.epp »

void wrote: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:49 am Everything 1.5.0.1379a improves the preview pane.

Double click will now open the selection.

Right clicking an unselected result will now preview that item.

Fixed an issue where the preview pane would flash White when first shown or resized.
How can this work ?
Right click of any item from the results shows the context menu as one expects.
void
Developer
Posts: 15983
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by void »

Changed to:

Right clicking an unselected result will now select and preview that result.



Previously, Everything would only select the result and no preview was shown.

The context menu item is always shown.
The preview is shown in the preview pane.
horst.epp
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by horst.epp »

void wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 12:00 am Changed to:
Right clicking an unselected result will now select and preview that result.
Ok, understand, but it doesn't make sense for me.
The context menu from the first of such right clicks covers most of the names in the result list.
Also, the user must have enabled preview to get any preview with this right click.
So the only benefit is not to change an existing selection ?
void
Developer
Posts: 15983
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: Preview pane double click open is not working recently

Post by void »

There's no change to how the context menu works or how right clicking works.



I'll try to explain the old bug more:

In 1377a or earlier..
Select a file.
Press Ctrl + Space to unselect the file.
There is now currently no selection.
Right click this same file.
The file is selected.
The context menu is shown.
The preview pane incorrectly continues to show nothing.
The expected behavior would be to show the selected file in the preview pane.
Post Reply