Temporarily Omit - improvement

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

1. Can use another name. (like exclude) It's different feature from Result Omissions.
2. Should be available regardless "Enable Result Omissions" enabled or not.

3.When "Temporarily Omit" is pressed, a pane (like preview pane) is opened. Let's call it Exclude pane.
Each item is omitted from Results is added to the Exclude pane.
In this way, if user omit an item by mistake, the user will be able to choose the item/s in Exclude pane, and return it to the results list.

----------------------------
I still think that it's better to call
"Temporarily Omit" ==> "Omit" or "Omit from list" or "Omit from Results" or "Omit item"
"Enable Result Omissions" ==> "Enable Exclude Temporarily" or "Enable Temporary Excludes"
Last edited by Stamimail on Wed Aug 16, 2023 11:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
harryray2
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by harryray2 »

Completely agree with your second point. It would be far better to have temp omit with or without results omissions enabled.
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

Maybe part of the code of "Everything File List Editor" can be used here for this pane.
Still, I didn't find a way how to move one folder without its descendants.
When dragging a folder, the default is to add its descendants.
What about
Ctrl+dragging to move folder item/s without descendants (or vice versa, Ctrl+dragging for with descendants)
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by void »

1. Can use another name. (like exclude) It's different feature from Result Omissions.
2. Should be available regardless "Enable Result Omissions" enabled or not.
I will consider separating temp omit from omit and using a different name.


3.When "Temporarily Omit" is pressed, a pane (like preview pane) is opened. Let's call it Exclude pane.
I'll consider an exclude pane.


Still, I didn't find a way how to move one folder without its descendants.
I'll add Ctrl + Shift + drop or Alt + drop to drop without descendants in the next alpha update.

Thank you for the suggestions.
harryray2
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by harryray2 »

Thanks David, using temp omit without enabling omissions would be incredibly useful and solve a few problems (for me).
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

question:
If someone wants to assign a shortkey to "Temporarily Omit",
How will it distinguish between omitting a folder (with its descendants) and omitting a folder item (without its descendants) ?
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by void »

Descendants are always omitted.
There's no option to omit a folder without descendants.
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

void wrote: Wed Aug 16, 2023 11:24 pm Descendants are always omitted.
There's no option to omit a folder without descendants.
This means that the original idea has not yet been implemented.
I was trying to treat each item as individual (standalone item), like you can do with File List Editor.
This functionality has its advantages.
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1355a improves temporarily omit:

Omit Results no longer needs to be enabled to temporarily omit results.



To temporarily omit a result:
  • Select the results you wish to temporarily omit.
  • Hold down Shift and right-click the selection.
    (Shift only needs to be held down if Omit Results is disabled)
  • Click Temporarily omit.
Files and subfolders in a folder are also omitted.



To set a keyboard shortcut to temporarily omit a result:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    temp
  • Select File | Temporarily Omit.
  • Click Add....
  • Press a new keyboard shortcut (for example: backspace) and click OK.
  • Click OK.


To temporarily omit a parent folder:
  • Select a result whose parent you wish to temporarily omit.
  • Hold down Shift and right-click the selection.
  • Under the parent folder submenu, click Temporarily omit.


To clear temporarily omitted results:
  • Double click the TEMP OMIT text in the status bar on the right.
    -or-
  • Close and reopen the Everything search window.


Ctrl + Shift + drop or Alt + drop to drop will now drop a folder without subfolders in the file list editor.


Descendants are always omitted.
There's no option to omit a folder without descendants.
This means that the original idea has not yet been implemented.
I was trying to treat each item as individual (standalone item), like you can do with File List Editor.
This functionality has its advantages.
Single files can be omitted.
I will consider an option to omit folders without omitting descendants.
Thanks for the suggestions.
harryray2
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by harryray2 »

Brilliant, thanks for this..

I'll try it out..I assume this is independent of result omissions and nothing else will be omitted apart from what is chosen in temp omit?
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by void »

Correct.

Temporarily omissions are always enabled.

You can leave your (non-temporarily) result omissions disabled.
harryray2
Posts: 1068
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by harryray2 »

Thanks, David.
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

Tested.

I think the double-click for both OMIT and TEMP OMIT (in status bar) should show something like OMIT pane (or the Organize Result Omissions window), rather than exit OMIT. The user will be able to Remove All from this pane.

Another way to Remove All will be
Middle Click in status bar indicator (exit this mode). (I found it is already supported, but not documented.)

You will need to update the tooltip of OMIT accordingly.
Find a better wording. Don't use "to show all results". exit/disable OMIT will be better.

Tooltip for TEMP OMIT (in status bar) is missing.


----------------------------
IMHO, we still need to think about a better terminology for OMIT that describe better the period of omission. (how long)
In Keyboard Shortcuts I can see several commands that belong to OMIT, which makes me think that when Shift+RightClicking we will need to find only
OMIT >

and the entire list of commands related to it.
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by void »

Thank you for the feedback Stamimail,
I think the double-click for both OMIT and TEMP OMIT (in status bar) should show something like OMIT pane (or the Organize Result Omissions window), rather than exit OMIT. The user will be able to Remove All from this pane.
I will consider showing the omit pane or organize result omissions window on double click.
The organize result omissions window would need an option to toggle "Enable result omissions".


You will need to update the tooltip of OMIT accordingly.
Find a better wording. Don't use "to show all results". exit/disable OMIT will be better.
I'll change the wording for the next alpha update.


Tooltip for TEMP OMIT (in status bar) is missing.
I'll add a tooltip for the next alpha update.


IMHO, we still need to think about a better terminology for OMIT that describe better the period of omission. (how long)
I am happy with omit.
I'm open to suggestions.

Currently:
OMIT persists between sessions until manually cleared.
TEMP OMIT is until the search window is closed.


In Keyboard Shortcuts I can see several commands that belong to OMIT, which makes me think that when Shift+RightClicking we will need to find only OMIT >
I will consider showing all the OMIT commands under an OMIT submenu.

Thank you for the suggestions.
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

Also, try to add support for at least a one Undo/Redo, for a case the user omit temporarily by mistake the wrong item/s.
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by void »

I will consider an undo for temporarily omit.

Thank you for the suggestion.
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

IMHO, we still need to think about a better terminology for OMIT that describe better the period of omission. (how long)
I am happy with omit.
I'm open to suggestions.
I've been trying to think of ideas, and don't think I've found anything good enough. The best I can think of so far:

Currently:
Exclude / Omit / Temporarily Omit

Change to:
Exclude / Omit permanently / Omit
Exclude / Omit / Drop
Exclude from index / Exclude from results / Omit
NotNull
Posts: 5352
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by NotNull »

I'm happy with (temp) Omit too. Getting used to it doesn't take long.

Maybe Ignore (Omit) and TEMP Forget (temp omit) coould work. But in the end: same difference ...
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Temporarily Omit - improvement

Post by Stamimail »

void wrote: Thu Aug 17, 2023 11:09 am I will consider an undo for temporarily omit.
You don't have to make an undo for temporarily omit in the same general Edit -> Undo.
If you make a pane (like 3.) you can make standalone Undo/Redo buttons/commands in this pane .
Post Reply