Status Bar Format

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by tuska »

Thanks!
There is currently only one problem if the search term folders: is entered.
That was also the case above, otherwise everything would be perfect.

Code: Select all

/statusbar_selection_format=Selected [if:!$folder-result-count:,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] files,[if:!$file-result-count:,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] folders,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] items ([TEXT:$file-selection-count:,"#,###"] of [TEXT:$file-result-count:,"#,###"] files, [TEXT:$folder-selection-count:,"#,###"] of [TEXT:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"] folders)]] | Size: [FORMATSIZE:$total-selection-size:,0] of [FORMATSIZE:$total-result-size:,0]
- Search query for folders: folders:
  Selected 3 of 115 589 folders | Size: 69,06 KB of            ... 616,05 GB ist missing ... <- not possible, see below...
- Search query for files: files:
  Selected 3 of 481 075 files | Size: 19,77 KB of 616,05 GB
Last edited by tuska on Sat May 27, 2023 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Because Everything does not include folder sizes in the total result size, I recommend the following format:

Code: Select all

Selected [if:!$folder-result-count:,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] files,[if:!$file-result-count:,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] folders,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] items ([TEXT:$file-selection-count:,"#,###"] of [TEXT:$file-result-count:,"#,###"] files, [TEXT:$folder-selection-count:,"#,###"] of [TEXT:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"] folders)]] | Size: [FORMATSIZE:$total-selection-size:,0][iflen:[FORMATSIZE:$total-result-size:,0], of [FORMATSIZE:$total-result-size:,0]]
- Search query for folders: folders:
Selected 3 of 115 589 folders | Size: 69,06 KB
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by tuska »

Thanks, then we have these results - multiple items selected (one of several variants ... see above):

- Copy the CODE below, paste it into the Everything search box and press ENTER.
  - If successful, you should see "statusbar_selection_format=..." in the status bar for a few seconds.
  - If successful, you should see "statusbar_total_size=1" in the status bar for a few seconds.

Code: Select all

/statusbar_selection_format=Selected [if:!$folder-result-count:,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] files,[if:!$file-result-count:,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] folders,[if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] items ([TEXT:$file-selection-count:,"#,###"] of [TEXT:$file-result-count:,"#,###"] files, [TEXT:$folder-selection-count:,"#,###"] of [TEXT:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"] folders)]] | Size: [FORMATSIZE:$total-selection-size:,0][if:[len:[FORMATSIZE:$total-result-size:,0]], of [FORMATSIZE:$total-result-size:,0]]

Code: Select all

/statusbar_total_size=1
- Search query for folders: blank
  Selected 3 of 596 686 items (0 of 481 097 files, 3 of 115 589 folders) | Size: 67,98 KB of 616,06 GB
- Search query for files: blank
  Selected 3 of 596 686 items (3 of 481 097 files, 0 of 115 589 folders) | Size: 58,26 KB of 616,06 GB

- Search query for folders: folders:
  Selected 3 of 115 589 folders | Size: 69,06 KB
- Search query for files: files:
  Selected 3 of 481 097 files | Size: 19,77 KB of 616,06 GB

Thanks for the information and thank you again for the prompt support! :)

⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺

statusbar_selected_item_format - used when there's a single item selected - example:

Code: Select all

/statusbar_selected_item_format=1 item (1 of [if:$folder-selection-count:,[text:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"] folders,[text:$file-result-count:,"#,###"] files])[if:$file-selection-count:," | Extension: "$extension:] | Size:$s | Date Modified: $m | Date Created: $c | Date Accessed: $a | Path: $p

Code: Select all

1 item (1 of 3 files) | Extension: exe | Size:4,57 MB | Date Modified: 26.05.2023 14:34 | Date Created: 09.05.2023 12:59 | Date Accessed: 26.05.2023 13:26 | Path: C:\Everything ... 4,57 MB
1 item (1 of 95 370 folders) | Size:7,97 GB | Date Modified: 27.05.2023 10:22 | Date Created: 21.06.2022 18:08 | Date Accessed: 26.05.2023 13:26 | Path: C: ... 7,97 GB
⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺

statusbar_format - used when there's no selection.

Code: Select all

/statusbar_format=#if:<#result-count:==1,1 item,#TEXT:<#result-count:,#,###> items> (#TEXT:<#file-result-count:,#,###> files, #TEXT:<#folder-result-count:,#,###> folders)

Code: Select all

596 694 items (481 105 files, 115 589 folders)
______________________________________________________
Windows 11 Pro (x64) Version 22H2 (OS build Build 22621.1778)
'Everything' 1.5.0.1347a (x64)
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1348a removes the total size from the left as this feels too busy.

The total size is now shown on the right.

added format code: $y = formatted total result size.

fixed an issue with attributes not being gathered when used in the statusbar.



The default formats are now:
statusbar_format=$o items
statusbar_selected_item_format=$o | Size: $s | Date Modified: $m | Path: $p
statusbar_selection_format=$o items | $x items selected
JTB3
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:15 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by JTB3 »

Hi David,
I hope you are doing well. I'm trying to modify my custom 'Single-Selection' Status Bar code to display the 'URL' Metadata property when a .URL shortcut file is individually selected. I was able to 1st display this URL metadata as a column, so I then proceeded to append the following code at the end of my '/statusbar_selected_item_format='
  • #IF:<#URL:, | #URL,>
However, this code does not work and the preprocessor does not seem to recognize 'URL' as a property. Did I miss something silly here? Can you please guide me as to how I need to reference/format the 'URL' Metadata property within an #IF statement and get it to display properly in the status bar? I'm trusting that this is possible!

Many Thanks, -JT 🔆
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

I hope you are well.

Please try $url: instead of #url:

Code: Select all

[iflen:$url:, | $url:]
JTB3
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 7:15 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by JTB3 »

void wrote: Tue Jul 11, 2023 12:26 pm I hope you are well.
Please try $url: instead of #url:

Code: Select all

[iflen:$url:, | $url:]
Thanks so much, David! Worked like a champ... :D
Here's the final code snippet I used to cleanly parse out just the URL domain name and enclose it in brackets:

Code: Select all

[IfLen:$url:, <[SubStr:$url:,1,[Eval:[InStr:$url:,/,[Eval:[InStr:$url:,//]+2]]-1]]>]
With much appreciation! -JT ✨
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

void wrote: Wed May 31, 2023 5:51 am Everything 1.5.0.1348a removes the total size from the left as this feels too busy.

The total size is now shown on the right.
[...]
I would like a check box option for making it possible to hide this info

I prefer the have it [manually added by me] at the end of my formatted Status Bar - and thus those numbers are redundant to me and thus also cluttering
Last edited by Thy Grand Voidinesss on Sat Jul 15, 2023 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 687
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

void wrote: Wed May 31, 2023 5:51 am [...]
added format code: $y = formatted total result size.
Great

I can use it to replace my old

Code: Select all

[formatsize:$total-result-size:,0]
part

void wrote: Wed May 31, 2023 5:51 am The default formats are now:
statusbar_format=$o items
statusbar_selected_item_format=$o | Size: $s | Date Modified: $m | Path: $p
statusbar_selection_format=$o items | $x items selected
Is there some comprehensive list of those updates?

Something like
A ---> B
C ---> H
Z ---> Z1
i.e. with an entry like
[formatsize:$total-result-size:,0 ---> $y
as it is hard to keep a track of them?

Or is it unnecessary for users to have such list available for them because all of old formats will keep their functionality forever?
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Changes are scattered through out this topic.
I will create a wiki on the subject when in beta.

The first post contains all the up-to-date information.

The old formats will still be supported.
enduser
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon May 02, 2022 2:34 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by enduser »

the "$z" format does not work unless you enable "General -> View -> Show total size in status bar" even if the file/folder size index is enabled. This is not a huge problem as I can hide the total size in the right by setting "statusbar_total_size" to false, but this seems like a bug.
Image
w64bit
Posts: 252
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 9:06 am

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by w64bit »

Maybe, these settings can be merged somehow?
show_selected_item_in_statusbar
show_size_in_statusbar
statusbar_total_size
First two seems redundant, taking into account that we already have very good statusbar $ customization.
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

Is there a bug at work here? I am using alpha
1.5.0.1379a
, I can customise the status bar for when there is no items selected with :

Code: Select all

/statusbar_format=no selection
And the string "no selection" is correctly shown, when I dont have anything selected. This is as expected.
but
/statusbar_selected_item_format
and
/statusbar_selection_format
seem to conflict. When I run the following, one at a time:

Code: Select all

/statusbar_selection_format=more than one item
/statusbar_selected_item_format=one item
"more than one item" will always show, even if I have just one item selected. Making it impossible for me define a format for when I have just one item selected.
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Tools -> Options -> View -> Show selected item in statusbar must be enabled.

Otherwise, Everything will only use statusbar_selection_format.
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

Yes that did it, cheers!
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

How to print the FPS as
24
rather than
24000
on the status bar?

Code: Select all

/statusbar_selected_item_format=$frame-rate:
The above prints it as
24000
, I tried the following to get it to print as
24
:
  • /statusbar_selected_item_format=[ceiling:$frame-rate:]
    this seems to have no effect
  • /statusbar_selected_item_format=[text:ceiling:$frame-rate:]
    , this seems to print nothing to the status bar
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Please try the following:

Code: Select all

/statusbar_selected_item_format=<formatnumber:$framerate:/1000>
<formatnumber:...>
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

Yes that did it, perfect. thanks.
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by tuska »

Hi,

Status bar: OMIT, TEMP OMIT
Number of files (not folders) in the status bar after using the context menu for "Omit" not comprehensible.

I have a problem when using Omit via the context menu in connection with files and the display in the status bar.
A check of folders (folder:) has produced a correct result for both the context menu for "Omit" and for "Temporarily Omit".

Everything Options - 1.5.0.1383a (x64) > Advanced
context_menu_omit_results               Show
context_menu_temp_omit_results      Show

statusbar_format

Code: Select all

#if:<#result-count:==1,1 item,#TEXT:<#result-count:,#,###> items> (#TEXT:<#file-result-count:,#,###> files, #TEXT:<#folder-result-count:,#,###> folders)
statusbar_selected_item_format

Code: Select all

1 item (1 of [if:$folder-selection-count:,[text:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"] folders,[text:$file-result-count:,"#,###"] files])[if:$file-selection-count:," | Extension: "$extension:] | Size:$s | Date Modified: $m | Date Created: $c | Date Accessed: $a | Path: $f
statusbar_selection_format

Code: Select all

Selected [if:$selection-count:==$result-count:,all,[TEXT:$selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$result-count:,"#,###"] items ([if:$file-result-count:,[if:$file-selection-count:==$file-result-count:,all,[TEXT:$file-selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$file-result-count:,"#,###"],no] files, [if:$folder-result-count:,[if:$folder-selection-count:==$folder-result-count:,all,[TEXT:$folder-selection-count:,"#,###"] of] [TEXT:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"],no] folders) | Size: #if:<$total-selection-size:!=$total-result-size:,#FORMATSIZE:$total-selection-size:,0 of >#FORMATSIZE:<$total-result-size:,0>#if:<$total-result-size:<=1024, (#if:<$total-selection-size:!=$total-result-size:,#TEXT:$total-selection-size:,"#,###" of >#TEXT:$total-result-size:,"#,###" bytes)>
A test showed me the following:

Tab1: files: Selected all 609 730 items (all 609 730 files, no folders) | Size: 660,35 GB
         OMIT: 2 files: D:\TomTom\-default.bmp and D:\TomTom\-default.toc
         Context menu: Omit
         files: Selected all 530 520 items (all 530 520 files, no folders) | Size: 442,71 GB
         Difference: 79208 Dateien

Tab2: files: Selected all 609 730 items (all 609 730 files, no folders) | Size: 660,35 GB
         TEMP OMIT: 2 files: D:\TomTom\-default.bmp and D:\TomTom\-default.toc
         Context menu: Temporarily Omit
         files: Selected all 609 728 items (all 609 728 files, no folders) | Size: 660,35 GB

Please check "Omit" and files regarding display in the status bar.
(A retest has also produced an incorrect result).

Thank you in advance.
____________________________________________________
Windows 11 Pro (x64) Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3880)
'Everything' 1.5.0.1383a (x64) - "Portable on system drive C:"
context_menu_omit_results | context_menu_temp_omit_results
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Thank you for the issue report tuska,

I am unable to reproduce the issue my end.
I see the correct number of results / selection.

Could you please repeat the process with debug logging enabled:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, Under the Debug submenu, click Start Debug Logging.
    ---repeat the process (select-all; select 2 files -> omit; select-all)
  • From the Tools menu, Under the Debug submenu, click Stop Debug Logging.
  • ---this will open your %TEMP%\Everything Debug Log.txt in Notepad
  • Could you please send this to support@voidtools.com


Please note: omitting files (right click -> Omit) will enable result omissions.
Was there anything else in your result omissions when clicking Omit?
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by tuska »

2void

Thank you for your prompt support!

I have moved the file "Omit Results.csv" with approx. 30 entries to D:\TMP for testing purposes.
A retest showed the expected number of files in "Omit"!

I then took a thorough look at the "Omit Results.csv" file:
*.jpg was also saved in the file(!?)
 
2024-07-24_Omit Results.csv_.png
2024-07-24_Omit Results.csv_.png (5.17 KiB) Viewed 4666 times
 
How this entry came about, however, is beyond my knowledge
because there was no such entry in the "Search History".

After I removed *.jpg from the "Omit Results.csv" file
I get the expected number of files in "Omit"!

I am sorry for the inconvenience.

Regards,
Karl
void
Developer
Posts: 16640
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by void »

Thanks for checking tuska,

It's pretty easy to right click a single jpg file and click Omit extension.
I am guessing this was done accidentally in this case.

Normally, Omit extension is only shown when Index -> Enable result omissions is checked, so it shouldn't be too much of an issue.
I am guessing you have Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> context_menu_omit_results set to Show?
tuska
Posts: 1052
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Status Bar Format

Post by tuska »

void wrote: Thu Jul 25, 2024 9:38 am It's pretty easy to right click a single jpg file and click Omit extension.
I am guessing this was done accidentally in this case.
Yes, that will have been it (simply clicked on the wrong menu item by mistake).
I have therefore now changed my settings to: "Show on Shift".
void wrote: Thu Jul 25, 2024 9:38 am Normally, Omit extension is only shown when Index -> Enable result omissions is checked, so it shouldn't be too much of an issue.
I am guessing you have Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> context_menu_omit_results set to Show?
Yes.

Thank you for the additional tips!
Post Reply