Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 3:11 am

I'm receiving this error on Everything-1.5.0.1252a.x64 (had issue on several builds before and tried updating with no luck).

See attached image.

Steps that led me to notice this issue:

1. Set Alt+f shortcut for folder filter
2. Do Alt+f
3. Click on sort by size several times
4. Receive error.

I've hit ok and let everything restart, and it began indexing again. During the property index part, which takes a bit of time for me, I tried sorting folders by size again and I receive the error.

I've yet to let it fully re-index with properties but I'm not sure if that's related.
Attachments
67676767.JPG
67676767.JPG (40.71 KiB) Viewed 4502 times

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6709
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by void » Mon Apr 05, 2021 3:27 am

Thank you for the bug report JTCGiants56,

I'm looking into the issue.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 3:31 am

I should note that I have index folder size and fast size sort selected.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6709
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by void » Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:18 am

Could you please send me your index statistics.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:32 am

void wrote:
Mon Apr 05, 2021 4:18 am
Could you please send me your index statistics.
Sent. Thanks.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:03 am

BTW, is it possible to add 1.5 to the right click context menu?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6709
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by void » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:23 am

To add Everything 1.5 to your folder right click menus:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the General tab on the left.
  • Check Show Search Everything folder context menu item.
  • Click OK.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:29 am

void wrote:
Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:23 am
To add Everything 1.5 to your folder right click menus:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the General tab on the left.
  • Check Show Search Everything folder context menu item.
  • Click OK.
Note: enabling will override any Everything 1.4 folder context menu item.
Sorry, should have specified if its possible to have them side by side for the time being. But I can definitly live without it. Thanks

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6709
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by void » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:32 am

Note: enabling will override any Everything 1.4 folder context menu item.

You can install Everything 1.4 and Everything 1.5 folder context menus side by side.

Everything 1.5 will use the "Search Everything 1.5a..." menu name, while Everything 1.4 will use the "Search Everything..." menu name.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:37 am

I can confirm I see both options. Thanks.

Please let me know when to test out the next build with the corrupt db fix.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6709
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by void » Thu Apr 08, 2021 1:39 am

Will do.

Just working out some other issues.

I will post an update soon.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Thu Apr 08, 2021 5:39 pm

I may have found another bug. In NTFS, if you have "automatically remove offline volumes unchecked", and remove a drive. Everything will not say "offline disk" like it does in 1.4. It will just show it the same as the other active drives.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6709
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by void » Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:42 am

Everything 1.5.0.1253a fixes an issue with folder: and file: searches causing database corruption.

Everything was using the wrong result arrays with the folder:/file: search, when changing the sort order and search the database would be corrupted.
I may have found another bug. In NTFS, if you have "automatically remove offline volumes unchecked", and remove a drive. Everything will not say "offline disk" like it does in 1.4. It will just show it the same as the other active drives.
Thanks for the bug report, Everything 1.5 will now remember the volume label, even when the volume is offline.
I will consider showing the online/offline status somewhere.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Everything db is corrupt - update folder size

Post by JTCGiants56 » Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:52 am

void wrote:
Fri Apr 09, 2021 6:42 am
Everything 1.5.0.1253a fixes an issue with folder: and file: searches causing database corruption.

Everything was using the wrong result arrays with the folder:/file: search, when changing the sort order and search the database would be corrupted.
I may have found another bug. In NTFS, if you have "automatically remove offline volumes unchecked", and remove a drive. Everything will not say "offline disk" like it does in 1.4. It will just show it the same as the other active drives.
Thanks for the bug report, Everything 1.5 will now remember the volume label, even when the volume is offline.
I will consider showing the online/offline status somewhere.
Thanks. I think it will be helpful to differentiate between online and offline.

It looks like the new build indeed fixes the sorting issue.

Post Reply