Select first result with a Command Line Option

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
MrBuNo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:21 pm

Select first result with a Command Line Option

Post by MrBuNo »

Hi,

I'm currently using the following Command Line to search for files:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Everything\Everything.exe" -s "<search string>"
However, after Everything opens, the search box is selected. What I want is that the first item in the results is selected automatically.
Is it possible to add a new command line option that does exactly this? Something like "-selectresults".

Regards,
MrBuNo
void
Developer
Posts: 15096
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Select first result with a Command Line Option

Post by void »

I've added the following command line options to Everything 850b or later:
-focus-most-run-result
-focus-last-run-result
-focus-top-result
-focus-bottom-result

For example, focus the most run result in Everything:
Everything.exe -s "foo bar" -focus-most-run-result

For example, focus the top result in Everything:
Everything.exe -s "foo bar" -focus-top-result

For example, sort by size ascending and focus the bottom result in Everything:
Everything.exe -s "foo bar" -sort size-ascending -focus-bottom-result

Thanks for the suggestion.
MrBuNo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 9:21 pm

Re: Select first result with a Command Line Option

Post by MrBuNo »

Thank you! Works great.
jeiea
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 2:17 am

Re: Select first result with a Command Line Option

Post by jeiea »

I tested

Code: Select all

Everything.exe -s "foo bar" -sort size-ascending -focus-bottom-result
with v1.4.1.870b, Win10RS1, but it's not working.

On the first execution, Everything fills search box but not select results. On the second execution (the window is already opened) it selects the result, but it's not bottom but top.

Am I missing something?
void
Developer
Posts: 15096
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Select first result with a Command Line Option

Post by void »

Post Reply