Some minor details

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
NotNull
Posts: 5352
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Some minor details

Post by NotNull »

... that are too small to deserve an entire topic


1. When opening a file list (File => Open File List), one can choose between Open and Open as read-only
The list is considered static by Everything. Why both?
(I know, it has been this way for ages; just "cleaning up".


2. On the Formulas "page", syntax is written as:
FORMULA(parameter,[option])

Should technically be:
FORMULA(parameter[,option])

(notice the location of the comma)

But I like the current way better.



3. Menu => History => Home does not show its associated keyboard shortcut.


4. A couple of menu items don't show a description in the statusbar when hovered.
(I wish more applications would do that; very helpful!)
- Couple of entries in the Tools > Debug submenu
- Clear temp result omissions
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Some minor details

Post by void »

Thank you for the minor detail report.


1. When opening a file list (File => Open File List), one can choose between Open and Open as read-only
I will remove the open as read-only option for the next alpha update.


2. On the Formulas "page", syntax is written as:
FORMULA(parameter,[option])
I use (parameter,[optional-parameter]) for readability.


3. Menu => History => Home does not show its associated keyboard shortcut.
There's a reason for this.
The menu uses the UI_ID_HISTORY_HOME_ALLOW_MOD command while the keyboard shortcut uses the UI_ID_HISTORY_HOME command.
The ALLOW_MOD variant allows Ctrl for new tab and Shift for new window.
I will make Everything use the keyboard shortcut from UI_ID_HISTORY_HOME with the UI_ID_HISTORY_HOME_ALLOW_MOD menu item.

I need to do the same with Open File List and a few other menu items.
I've noticed I've broken Open File List in the last alpha due to this issue.. Ctrl + O will always open in a new tab..
So thanks for bringing this to my attention.


4. A couple of menu items don't show a description in the statusbar when hovered.
Initially, I wasn't going to keep the debug submenu.
It will likely stay, so I will add status bar help..

Not sure how I missed the clear temp result omissions help.
I will add this.

Thank you for the suggestions.
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Some minor details

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1373a fixes an issue with Ctrl + O (open file list) always opening in a new tab.

Ctrl + clicking a menu item will now open searches in a new tab.
Shift + clicking a menu item will now open searches in a new window.

Ctrl + clicking the open button will now open searches in a new tab.
Shift + clicking the open button will now open searches in a new window.



Added status bar help for all commands.
NotNull
Posts: 5352
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Some minor details

Post by NotNull »

void wrote: Thu Apr 25, 2024 5:55 am Ctrl + clicking the open button will now open searches in a new tab.
Shift + clicking the open button will now open searches in a new window.
Love the consistency here!

Open without keyboard modifier still opens in a new tab. Guess that is the expected behaviour? (fwiw: it is my preferred solution)
void
Developer
Posts: 15797
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Some minor details

Post by void »

I forgot to mention here, you can override the default behavior.

To set the default action when opening a search:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    open search
  • Select: open_search_action
  • Set the value to: Existing window, New tab or New window
    (the default is: Existing window)
  • Click OK.


To set the default action when opening a search with Ctrl:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    open search
  • Select: ctrl_open_search_action
  • Set the value to: Existing window, New tab or New window
    (the default is: New tab)
  • Click OK.


To set the default action when opening a search with Shift:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    open search
  • Select: shift_open_search_action
  • Set the value to: Existing window, New tab or New window
    (the default is: New window)
  • Click OK.


Was open_search_action set to new tab?
NotNull
Posts: 5352
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Some minor details

Post by NotNull »

void wrote: Thu Apr 25, 2024 11:33 pm Was open_search_action set to new tab?
It was. Did not know this setting would work on filelists too.
Even more consistency :thumbsup:
Post Reply