Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

When a user writes something in the box of Search Edit or applies a Filter, thus filters objects* from the main window, the info about number of narrowed down items* appears in the left bottom corner / on the left side of the Status Bar. But that info is replaced with detailed info about a file or folder when one is selected by user. And even after deleting of the entire filtering expression the Status Bar does not revert to showing just how many they are in overall

Hence I propose forcing left side of Status Bar to always show
Items: X

by default where this >>X<< is number of found items / objects* - and to make it customizable, so that a user could choose to see one of such versions of the sama data
Files & Folders: 1,234,567,890 |

ITEMS: 1 234 567 890 ●

found 1-234-567-890 objects ▶

or whatever texted GUI a given user comes up with to own liking


* Plus: Windows Explorer [and filemanagers like FreeCommander] use umbrella term >>items<<. Why is Everything using >>objects<<?
void
Developer
Posts: 15338
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by void »

Thank you for the feedback Thy Grand Voidinesss,

Please try adjusting your selected item format:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    statusbar
  • Select statusbar_selected_item_format.
  • Set the value to: $o items | Size: $s | Date Modified: $m | Path: $p.
  • Click OK.
Status bar format.

I'll look into showing the total item count when a single item is selected by default.


* Plus: Windows Explorer [and filemanagers like FreeCommander] use umbrella term >>items<<. Why is Everything using >>objects<<?
"objects" came from the XP days and was never updated.
Everything will use "items" in the next alpha update.

Thank you for the suggestions.
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

For now I decided to use

Code: Select all

ITEMS: $o ●●● TYPE: $t ● ATTRIBUTES: $b ● $f ●●●
but I would like to rework it / unify it with selection of multiple items. But for that the Status Bar would need to be updated and simplified; because why burden the user with inconvenience of such dichotomy like e.g.

Code: Select all

$result-count:
and

Code: Select all

$o
?
void
Developer
Posts: 15338
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by void »

I had already added $o support to all status bar formats for the next alpha update ;)
I will have an update soon.

$result-count: is unformatted.
$o is formatted (shown with digit grouping)

$o is the same as [formatnumber:$result-count:]

[format-number:]



I have also added the following for the next alpha update:
$x = formatted selection count.
$z = formatted total size. (total result size or the total selection size if there is a selection)
void
Developer
Posts: 15338
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1347a improves status bar formatting.

The status bar will now be formatted similar to Windows 10 / 11 by default:







The total result item count is always shown.
The Tools -> Options -> View -> "Show the result count with the selection count" option has been removed.



The total result/selection size is now shown on the left.

To show the total size on the right:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    statusbar
  • Select statusbar_total_size.
  • Set the value to: true
  • Click OK.


To change the status bar formatting to the old XP style (used in previous Everything versions):
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    statusbar
  • Select statusbar_format.
  • Set the value to:
    $o objects
  • Select statusbar_selected_item_format.
  • Set the value to:
    Size: $s, Date Modified: $m, Path: $p
  • Select statusbar_selection_format.
  • Set the value to:
    $x objects selected
  • Select statusbar_total_size.
  • Set the value to: true
  • Click OK.


The following format codes have been added:
$o = formatted result count.
$x = formatted selection count.
$z = formatted total size. (total result size or the total selection size if there is a selection)



The new formatting takes some time to get use to the size on the left.
Does anyone else find it easier to read the size on the right?
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

So now I use

Code: Select all

statusbar_format= $x / $o | [text:$file-result-count:,"#,###"] FILES | [text:$folder-result-count:,"#,###"] FOLDERS | [text:$total-result-size:,"#,###"] TOTAL SIZE

statusbar_selected_item_format= $x / $o SELECTED | [text:$total-result-size:,"#,###"] ▶ $z | TYPE: $t | ATTRIBUTES: $b ●●● $f ●

statusbar_selection_format= $x / $o SELECTED | [text:$total-result-size:,"#,###"] ▶ $z | TYPE: ... | ATTRIBUTES: ... ●●● ... ●
and its much better



But I propose users could also:

A] Replace

Code: Select all

,"#,###"
with

Code: Select all

 "# ###"
This would make each coma be supplanted with a white space; or any other sign they might want to see


B] Make the total size be shown in the same way as size of selected item or items, i.e. in 123.456 format followed by abbreviations of unit, which unit would be of the applied dynamically depending on the size of selected item or items

This would stop showing such hard to read data like 18,987,143,456,454 and instead would present in such case 18.987 TB


C]

[I have moved this request this to a separate topic viewtopic.php?t=13372 as it deserved such]
Last edited by Thy Grand Voidinesss on Fri May 26, 2023 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

As for
void wrote: Fri May 26, 2023 5:55 am [...]
The Tools -> Options -> View -> "Show the result count with the selection count" option has been removed.
Is a value for such defunct option still stored in the INI file? And if yes- would not it lead to some glitch occurring 5 or 10 years form now, when you completely forget about it ever existing?
void
Developer
Posts: 15338
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by void »

"# ###"
Everything currently uses your system digit grouping symbol.

I will consider an option to override the system digit grouping symbol.


B] Make the total size be shown in the same way as size of selected item or items, i.e. in 123.456 format followed by abbreviations of unit, which unit would be of the applied dynamically depending on the size of selected item or items
To show sizes in the size column with only 3 digits and the unit:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the View tab on the left.
  • Change Size format to: Auto
  • Click OK.
Is this what you mean? the sizes in the status bar should use auto-formatting by default.
The statusbar size formatting can be customized with statusbar_size_format under Tools -> Options -> Advanced.

The Tools -> Options -> View -> "Show the result count with the selection count" option has been removed.
Is a value for such defunct option still stored in the INI file? And if yes- would not it lead to some glitch occurring 5 or 10 years form now, when you completely forget about it ever existing?
The UI option, ini option and the code to display "x of y items selected" has been removed.

Thank you for your suggestions.
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

void wrote: Sat May 27, 2023 6:13 am [...]
The statusbar size formatting can be customized with statusbar_size_format under Tools -> Options -> Advanced.
I already have this set to Auto - and yet in the Status Bar I see 18,987,143,456,454 instead of 18.987 TB
void
Developer
Posts: 15338
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by void »

Instead of using:

[text:$total-result-size:,"#,###"]

Please try:

[formatsize:$total-result-size:,0]

[format-size:]
MandraK
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2020 4:45 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by MandraK »

Is there an online reference for these formats?

How can a add video width + height to the statusbar ?
And DateTimeOriginal for images?
tuska
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by tuska »

MandraK wrote: Sat May 27, 2023 10:24 am Is there an online reference for these formats?
Status Bar Format
Thy Grand Voidinesss
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm

Re: Info in Status Bar about found results is inconsistent

Post by Thy Grand Voidinesss »

Thy Grand Voidinesss wrote: Sat May 27, 2023 8:51 am
void wrote: Sat May 27, 2023 6:13 am [...]
The statusbar size formatting can be customized with statusbar_size_format under Tools -> Options -> Advanced.
I already have this set to Auto - and yet in the Status Bar I see 18,987,143,456,454 instead of 18.987 TB
void wrote: Sat May 27, 2023 8:53 am [...]
Please try:

[formatsize:$total-result-size:,0]
[...]
Apparently this works for me, so thank you


The only issue which remains then is this:
Thy Grand Voidinesss wrote: Fri May 26, 2023 5:21 pm [...]
I propose users could also:

A] Replace

Code: Select all

,"#,###"
with

Code: Select all

 "# ###"
This would make each coma be supplanted with a white space; or any other sign they might want to see
[...]
void wrote: Sat May 27, 2023 6:13 am
"# ###"
Everything currently uses your system digit grouping symbol.

I will consider an option to override the system digit grouping symbol.
[...]
Post Reply