add sub menus to bookmarks

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:23 pm

Would it be possible to add submenus to the bookmarks option.
eg programs, documents etc etc.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:52 am

Not easily, how about I add a simple parsing trick when you use paths with \ Everything could create sub menus for you? for example, with the bookmark name: music\loscil *.mp3
loscil *.mp3 would appear under a music submenu, however, it would show as music\loscil *.mp3 in the organize bookmark window.

Full folder support in the organize bookmark window is on my wish list..

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Mon Oct 03, 2016 1:18 pm

Thanks for replying.
I'm sure that would be helpful. I'll keep an eye out for updates.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Tue Oct 04, 2016 5:02 am

I've added the option to use "menu folders" in Everything.

If you would like to try this now, please try Everything 1.4.1.762b:
http://www.voidtools.com/Everything-1.4.1.762b.x64.zip
http://www.voidtools.com/Everything-1.4.1.762b.x86.zip

To enable menu folders in Everything:
  • Completely exit Everything (right click the Everything system tray icon and click Exit)
  • Open your %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini
  • Add the following line to the end of your Everything.ini:
    menu_folders=1
  • Save changes and restart Everything 1.4.1.762b
  • Use \ to separate paths with your bookmark names, eg: work\my work search would create the menu item my work search in the submenu work.

It's disabled by default, because it is not uncommon for bookmarks to have paths in the name.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:55 pm

Thank you.
Okay, But I'm not sure if I am doing this right. I searched for programs\potplayer, filrtering it to exe. But no results returned.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:08 am

Seems to be working here, what about searching for nothing with just the exe filter? does that find any results?

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:34 pm

Hi.
It was working, then it wasn;t working.
I don't know why
Things that happen
if i close everything program, and reopen it, and check the ini file, the added line has
disappeared.
when the sub menu option was working, and I added two programs ie potplayer and pale moon, they would appear as two separate program menus.
eg programs\palemoon
and programs\potplayer.
They didn't actually appear as they are written. But you could see that palemoon was within one programs submenu, and potplayer within another programs sub menu.
Then if i closed the program and reopen it again, and click on the bookmarks option,
both pale moon and potplayer will appear in the one submenu, but only for a second or two. Then they both revert to separate program menus.
Note. remember after reopening, the ini file has lost the additional line.
Right now though, for some reason the bookmark just as : programs\palemoon

therube
Posts: 1961
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby therube » Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:06 pm

if i close everything program, and reopen it, and check the ini file, the added line has disappeared

Check where Everything.ini is located & that you are modifying the correct one (if more then one exists):
-> Everything | Options | General -> Store settings & data in...

And make sure that you have exited from Everything (Ctrl+Q) prior to making the changes.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:00 pm

Apologies.
The menu folders line does not dissappear.
I just assumed it would be the last line, all the time.
When I did search for it, there it was, only no longer the last line.
The Bookmarks now appear as depicted in image 3.
but if i close the program, and reopen it, for a second they will appear as image 4.
Image 4 is the way, i would prefer to have them.
Can that be obtained.
NOTE. I can't upload those images, if you need to see them. how large can attachments be.
In the meantime, if you wish to peruse them, they can be found at
https://we.tl/o33n1Bmzav
NOTE 2. This is the we transfer uploader. Ignore the picture in the background. it has nothing to do with the uploaded images.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:02 pm

oh, okay. so it was just image 3 that was too big. But I guess you can see from image 4, what I;'m talking about.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Thu Oct 06, 2016 11:29 am


irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:46 pm

What can i say.
absolutely amazing.
I'm not working. But one day when I'm not inundated with bills, i hope to send something in the way of appreciation.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Mon Nov 21, 2016 9:28 am

I've added the ini option: menu_folder_separator to customize the folder separator character.

To change the folder separator character to: /
  • Ensure menu_folders is enabled (See above)
  • In Everything 809b or later, type in the following search and press Enter:
    /menu_folder_separator=/
  • use a / in your filters and bookmarks name to put them in folders.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:39 pm

Ok.This has me confused.
Is this just a way of say creating a bookmark of say music-beatles, as
music/beatles instead of music\beatles.
So i did a search for
/menu_folder_separator=/
Should I have seen results in the search box?
Anyway i tried creating a new bookmark using / instead of \. But it diidn't work.
instead of say beatles coming out as a bookmark in the music folder. it just comes out as music/beatles.
But i suppose it doesn't really matter if i have to use / or \. If it's only one of them, I can use, i will still have to checkup, which one it is, because I often forget.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Wed Nov 30, 2016 1:21 am

It allows you to create sub menus.

Normally Everything doesn't allow sub menus, all bookmarks appear under the bookmark menu:
Image

You may like to have a Music sub menu, and inside that submenu have a Beatles submenu.
To do so, you enable menu_folders by typing in the special search and pressing ENTER:
/menu_folders=1

Once enabled, you can use the special character \ in your bookmark name to split the menus into submenus.
Music\Beatles
splits into a Music sub menu with the menu item Beatles:

Image
Image

The problem with enabling menu_folders is you can't use a literal \ in your bookmark name.
For example, you have the bookmark name c:\windows, the windows part would end up in a sub menu called c:

That's where menu_folder_separator can help.
menu_folder_separator can change the special character \ to whatever you like.

For example, change the special menu folder character to /
/menu_folder_separator=/

Now we would use the bookmark name Music/Beatles to create sub menus.

To revert back to the default menu_folder special character \, type in the following search and press ENTER:
/menu_folder_separator=\

After typing these special commands into the search box, Everything will briefly show the current setting in the status bar.
No search is performed.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Wed Nov 30, 2016 7:04 pm

okay. Thank you very much. So. i assume it has to be either / or \ to create submenus. I tend to forget which one it is. For instance could a +sign be used to create submenus?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:24 pm

Yes, type in the following search and press ENTER:
/menu_folder_separator=+

Then use a + in your bookmark/filter name to create sub menus.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Tue Dec 06, 2016 12:12 pm

Thank you.
i copied from here
/menu_folder_separator=+
into the search window
i then went to organise bookmarks
One of the programs I use is potplayer
I changed from programs\potplayer
to
programs+potplayer
and pressed okay.
In the main window, when pressing bookmarks
the change now appears as programs+potplayer

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Wed Dec 07, 2016 7:23 am

Is menu_folders enabled?

Please try typing in the following search and pressing enter:
/menu_folders=1

Does the bookmark potplayer now show in a submenu "programs"?

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:11 pm

Well, it didn't by doing it that. But i changed it back to it's original
programs\potplayer
through "organise bookmarks"
But the +option doesn't work.
Is there something I should be doing with the ini file?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:05 am

But the +option doesn't work.


Is programs\potplayer showing potplayer in the submenu programs now?

Is there something I should be doing with the ini file?


No, there's no need to modify the ini directly.

What version of Everything are you using?
Could you please send me your %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:33 pm

copied from c:\users\user\appdata\roaming\everything

; Please make sure Everything is not running before modifying this file.
[Everything]
...
menu_folders=1
...

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:35 pm

using
version 1.4.1.773b (x86)

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:27 pm

Thanks for your Everything.ini.

You will need Everything 809b or later for /menu_folder_separator= to work.

irish
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 11:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby irish » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:13 pm

Great. that worked, thank you very much.

salazor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby salazor » Thu Jan 26, 2017 1:55 pm

This is a very useful option, I wonder if you can add more items to the submenu - my settings:

Version 1.4.1.824b (x86)
menu_folders=1
menu_folder_separator=+

I add bookmark - Drives+A

I wanted add to bookmark Drives: B, C, D, etc ... is it possible?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4127
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby void » Fri Jan 27, 2017 11:21 am

I wanted add to bookmark Drives: B, C, D, etc ... is it possible?


Please try using the bookmark names:
Drives+B
Drives+C
Drives+D
etc.

They will be added to the Drives bookmark submenu.

salazor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:52 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby salazor » Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:27 pm

Many Thanks, that was the point.

frew
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 2:16 am

Re: add sub menus to bookmarks

Postby frew » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:05 am

I love this Bookmarks menu and submenu capability of Everything.

Here's what I did and I love how it works:

"C:\Users\main\AppData\Roaming\Everything\Everything.ini"
menu_folders=1
menu_folder_separator=\=\

And I edited this file, here's some examples:
"C:\Users\main\AppData\Roaming\Everything\Bookmarks.csv"
"+Misc_1\=\D: very good",0,0,0,0,0,"Date Modified",1,"EVERYTHING","D: very good",0,"","",1,,,0
"+Misc_1\=\D: excellent",0,0,0,0,0,"Date Modified",1,"EVERYTHING","D: excellent",0,"","",1,,,0

Note that I chose to put a + in front of the submenu names to distinguish them as being menu items
when they show up at Bookmarks. I just kind of like that distinction from other Bookmarks that show up.

Just wanted to share this for anyone else kind of new to this like I am.
With lots of bookmarks, this is a fairly easy way to get menus happening there.

Thanks again so much for this very useful and fun program Everything!


Return to “Suggestions”