Quick Question regarding Everything and RegEx

General discussion related to "Everything".
hairypaulsack

Quick Question regarding Everything and RegEx

Post by hairypaulsack »

I must admit that I am fairly new to RegEx and while having been mostly successful with my endeavors I am absolutely clueless as to where to begin with something like this.

Simply Put:
I've had a horrible habit of extracting archives and leaving the remains behind. If this isn't a problem of epic proportions with respect to wasted space, it is certainly a contributing factor to the mass amounts of files that I believe to be a bottleneck for the de/fragmentation process.

Would like to know if it would be possible to help me track down pairs of archives and the contents of archives. I'm fairly confident that I've read duplicate file finders that have the ability to parse through some (or all) archive file types, but because of the way that I extracted my archives, I think there may be a faster solution using the gift of everything search. I am not necessarily seeking a solution as I feel the path to learning is through self discovery, but I wouldn't complain if one were provided.

Again, do want to reiterate that I am merely seeking conformation as to whether or not this is possible as I've had my fair share of searching for things that do not exist, and if not, maybe someone knows a duplicate file finder that could do the operation that I seek without having to parse within compressed archives (as I assume to do this would require the archives to temporarily be extracted behind the scenes which would dramatically increase the operation time.

Why I think there might be a solution with Everything Search:
In my thoughts, one possible benefit to the way that I did this is that 95% of the time I extracted the archive into a new folder based on the name of the archive.

E.g.

.\archive_example_1.zip would have been extracted into .\archive_example_1\