Full row select

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Full row select

Post by Stamimail »

I think the behavior of "Full row select" in Everything and Windows Explorer are wrong.

What's good:
Especially in WIndows Explorer, when selecting multiple files, it make it easier for you to follow along and know which properties belongs to which file Name.

What's bad:
I think Drag&Drop should work only on Name column text.
For all other columns text+space, Drag&Drop should be disabled and only rectangle selection will work.
void
Developer
Posts: 15654
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by void »

Thank you for the suggestion Stamimail,

Please try the latest Everything 1.5 Alpha.

Version 1.5.0.1244 adds a name_only_drag ini option to enable drag from the name column only.

To enable drag only from the name column:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /name_only_drag=1
  • If successful you should see name_only_drag=1 in the status bar for a few seconds.
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by Stamimail »

Thank you void.
It doesn't work like expected.

If you select for example the lines 1-10, and then want to select the lines 5-8, you need to be able to do that while hovering the Path Column and dragging.
Currently, dragging the selection will get into MoveFile mode instead of letting the user select again by RectangleSelection.
Only when start the dragging of selection while hovering the Name text, only then it should get into MoveFile mode.
void
Developer
Posts: 15654
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by void »

Thank you for the feedback Stamimail,

Please try the latest Everything 1.5 Alpha.

Version 1.5.0.1245 will only allow dragging by clicking on the text in the name column.

Would you prefer to allow dragging from anywhere in the name column when the result is already selected? -Or is dragging from the text only OK?
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by Stamimail »

I think now it's OK.

But we can make it better.
By testing, "Full row select" helps us to follow along and know which properties belongs to which file Name only in a case we select one item.
In a case we have multiple selection, it won't really help us with this.
What will really help us will be:
/selected_border=1
/selected_border_color=#rrggbb
Then it will be closer to Windows Explorer.

So I think it's not a matter for
Check/Uncheck the "Full row select" option
What finally we'll need to have is like this (IMHO):

One color for Highlighted selection - Only NameText (like when "Full row select" is diasbled).
AND one color for
/selected_border=1
/selected_border_color=#rrggbb
will be stretched on all columns (like when "Full row select" is enabled).

Optional:
One color for highlighting non NameText. (like 2 layers of colors in one row)

This is not an exact picture, but I hope you will understand.
Image
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by Stamimail »

btw,
I think there is a bug with
/selected_border=1
There is no border when 1 item is selected, or the thickness of the border is not uniform when multiple items selected.

Also I think,
The rectangular selection should be customizable (and not be dependent on the highlighted selection color).
void
Developer
Posts: 15654
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by void »

What finally we'll need to have is like this (IMHO):

One color for Highlighted selection - Only NameText (like when "Full row select" is diasbled)
I have put this on my TODO list as it's difficult to support multiple selection background colors in the same column without rewriting a lot of the result list coloring routines.
It is partially implemented with the /selected_row_color=#rrggbb ini option.
I think there is a bug with
/selected_border=1
There is no border when 1 item is selected, or the thickness of the border is not uniform when multiple items selected.
The accent color is used for the focused item.
The selection border doesn't overlap the next item like you might see in Windows Explorer.
When consecutive rows are selected, you will see a double border.
The rectangular selection should be customizable (and not be dependent on the highlighted selection color).
Use /translucent_selection_rectangle_background_color=#rrggbb and /translucent_selection_rectangle_border_color=#rrggbb and /translucent_selection_rectangle_alpha=0-255 to customize.
Jack
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:26 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by Jack »

What finally we'll need to have is like this (IMHO):

One color for Highlighted selection - Only NameText (like when "Full row select" is diasbled).
One optional solution as a reference. by Configure color theme as bellow.
The .ini configuration file is attache:"Color theme -Jack-1 - Everything.ini"
Color theme -Jack-1.png
Color theme -Jack-1.png (70.46 KiB) Viewed 15245 times
Attachments
Color theme -Jack-1 - Everything.ini.7z
(12.02 KiB) Downloaded 364 times
Stamimail
Posts: 1122
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by Stamimail »

@Jack
This quote is partial. I can't see in your image a solution for what I've described.

Look what is easier for you to follow along the line (checking the "Date Created" for example):
Windows Defender
OR
Windows Media Player

btw, I think these colors in WIndows 7 are better from WIndows 10.
void
Developer
Posts: 15654
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Full row select

Post by void »

Just making a note here, that selected_border=1 doesn't look too bad when using a gap between items.
Post Reply