Everything64.exe 1.5.0.1283a doesn't appear to have ASLR enabled ?

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Deipotent
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2021 12:27 pm

Everything64.exe 1.5.0.1283a doesn't appear to have ASLR enabled ?

Post by Deipotent »

Great work so far on the 1.5 version!

On Win 10 21H1 x64,

When I check the Everything64.exe 1.5.0.1283a (portable ZIP download) in Process Explorer it shows ASLR as "Enabled (permanent)Disabled", while in Process Hacker it shows "Mitigation policies" as just "DEP (permanent)".

If I check another process, like dopus.exe, with Process Explorer it shows ASLR as "High-Entropy, Bottom-Up", while in Process Hacker it shows "Mitigation policies" as "ASLR (high entropy) DEP (permanent)".

Are you building with ASLR enabled (ie. /DYNAMICBASE /HIGHENTROPYVA) ?

EDIT: Added OS.
Last edited by Deipotent on Thu Nov 04, 2021 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
therube
Posts: 4679
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything64.exe 1.5.0.1283a doesn't appear to have ASLR enabled ?

Post by therube »

On my end, Win7 (might matter ?), 1282 x86...

-------

PE:
DEP: Enabled (Permanent)
ALSR: Disabled

-------

PH:
Mitigation: DEP (Permanent)

Data Execution Prevention (DEP) is permanently enabled for this process.
ATL thunk emulation is disabled.
void
Developer
Posts: 15663
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything64.exe 1.5.0.1283a doesn't appear to have ASLR enabled ?

Post by void »

Thanks for your feedback Deipotent,

This was done for debug purposes.

Future builds will use /DYNAMICBASE /HIGHENTROPYVA
void
Developer
Posts: 15663
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything64.exe 1.5.0.1283a doesn't appear to have ASLR enabled ?

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1284a is now built with /DYNAMICBASE /HIGHENTROPYVA
Post Reply