Showing caret/double backslash in search box

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
nathan323
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:22 am

Showing caret/double backslash in search box

Post by nathan323 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:10 am

Suddenly Everything is showing search location as:

Code: Select all

^C:\\Program Files\\
instead of:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files"
I have no idea why this happened, I dont recall changing any settings.

It searches successfully some of the time when immediately typing after \\, but some locations it doesn't work, eg. C: and Program Files.

Also if then change search criteria to "C:\", it finds zero objects.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6498
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Showing caret/double backslash in search box

Post by void » Wed Jun 28, 2017 2:51 am

Disable Regex from the Search menu.

nathan323
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:22 am

Re: Showing caret/double backslash in search box

Post by nathan323 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:17 am

Thanks. In hindsight, it probably happened when I installed Clover (http://ejie.me/), it contained Everything and it seemed to implement over the top of the existing installation. Screwed up normal use of Everything, didn't like Clover, so I uninstalled. I was sure Everything had been working (ie. Regex disabled) since then, maybe not..

Post Reply