Larger thumbnails than 'Extra Large Thumbnails'

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
Oblomov228
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:57 pm

Larger thumbnails than 'Extra Large Thumbnails'

Post by Oblomov228 » Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:21 pm

Hello,

I've activated 'thumbnail_fill' and increased 'extra_large_thumbnail_size', as documented in
https://www.voidtools.com/support/everything/ini/

However, the end result is an enormous loss in quality, am I doing something wrong?

Kind regards,
...
Attachments
Settings....png
The parts changed, highlighted by red underneath...
Settings....png (22.07 KiB) Viewed 716 times
Image.png
An example of how bad an image looks...
Image.png (64.63 KiB) Viewed 716 times

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6636
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Larger thumbnails than 'Extra Large Thumbnails'

Post by void » Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:59 pm

Normally Everything will load thumbnails as 256x256.

Please set the thumbnail_load_size ini setting to load larger thumbnails:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /thumbnail_load_size=1024
  • If successful, you should see thumbnail_load_size=1024 in the statusbar for a few seconds.
  • Please press F5 to update any previously loaded thumbnails.
1024 is the highest supported value.
Please be aware each thumbnail will use 4MB of RAM (1024x1024x32bit).


You may also like to set the maximum thumbnail size:
(This will allow you to use Ctrl+Mouse wheel to change the thumbnail size to 1024)
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /max_thumbnail_size=1024
  • If successful, you should see max_thumbnail_size=1024 in the statusbar for a few seconds.
thumbnail_load_size
max_thumbnail_size

Oblomov228
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2019 9:57 pm

Re: Larger thumbnails than 'Extra Large Thumbnails'

Post by Oblomov228 » Tue May 04, 2021 6:34 pm

void wrote:
Thu Apr 29, 2021 11:59 pm
Normally Everything will load thumbnails as 256x256.

Please set the thumbnail_load_size ini setting to load larger thumbnails:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /thumbnail_load_size=1024
  • If successful, you should see thumbnail_load_size=1024 in the statusbar for a few seconds.
  • Please press F5 to update any previously loaded thumbnails.
1024 is the highest supported value.
Please be aware each thumbnail will use 4MB of RAM (1024x1024x32bit).


You may also like to set the maximum thumbnail size:
(This will allow you to use Ctrl+Mouse wheel to change the thumbnail size to 1024)
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /max_thumbnail_size=1024
  • If successful, you should see max_thumbnail_size=1024 in the statusbar for a few seconds.
thumbnail_load_size
max_thumbnail_size
Thanks so much! This is exactly what I wanted! :D

Post Reply