Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explorer

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
Arbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:58 pm

Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explorer

Post by Arbie » Mon Jul 15, 2013 6:57 pm

I recently moved to XYplorer as a replacement for Windows Explorer (on my Win 7 32-bit PC). XYplorer has the ability to set itself as the "default Windows explorer", which I've done. So it pops up as expected when I open folders on the desktop etc.

However, when I "Open path" on an Everything return, the original Windows Explorer is called. So I guess this is hard-wired in(?).

--> If it is not too complicated, I'd appreciate having Everything call my explorer replacement, not the original.

By the way, I am very impressed with XYplorer.

Thanks for a great tool,

Arbie

Jerry
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by Jerry » Mon Jul 15, 2013 8:34 pm

Hi Arbie,
I have exactly the same issue and posted a similar request here. Perhaps you can add your post to that thread as well.

Been using XYplorer for 3 years now and will never look back. These 2 programs, XYplorer and Everything, are absolutely indispensable to me now.

Jerry

vsub
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by vsub » Mon Jul 15, 2013 9:10 pm

$exec("the xyplorer path" "%1")

nagan
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by nagan » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:08 am

vsub wrote:$exec("the xyplorer path" "%1")
Just adding to the reply. The entry to be changed/replaced is in the Open Path command line in the Tools>>Options>>General>>Context menu

$exec("%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" /select,"%1")

Arbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by Arbie » Wed Jul 17, 2013 3:19 am

@nagan: Thanks very much. I'll try that.

@vsub: You spent 60 seconds showing off. You could have spent 90 seconds and actually helped me. No thanks.

Arbie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by Arbie » Wed Jul 17, 2013 3:52 am

Yes, the solution is to add entries to the Tools | Options | Context Menu items. For example, for "Explore Path" enter:

$exec("C:\Program Files\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" %1)

assuming you have XYplorer installed in C:\Program Files\XYplorer

Works great - thanks. I just had no idea this customization option existed.

vsub
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by vsub » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:52 am

Arbie wrote: Works great - thanks. I just had no idea this customization option existed.
Well how do I know about it or how does nagan know about it...look at the options.You probably could've done it yourself if you looked first.
It's a good thing to know what a program can do and what you can change...you may even find something else that want to be enabled,disable or changed

Jerry
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed May 05, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by Jerry » Thu Jul 18, 2013 9:39 pm

Thanks for this. I didn't think to look in the context menu settings.

The following revised solution is better, IMO, because it's not dependent on the XYplorer path. With XYplorer set to the default file manager, Everything is already opening folders as desired, so this is just invoking that same working behavior for path.

Code: Select all

$exec($parent("%1"))
Incidentally, for fellow XYplorer users, there's an alternative way of opening the path of a folder into XYplorer from Everything, and it just uses the folder or file from the Name column: Click and hold down with the right mouse on one folder or file and then drag it into the XYplorer file list pane, release the mouse button, and then, from the context menu that comes up, select Go To Dragged Item. XYplorer will take you to the selected folder or the selected file's folder. That's what I've been doing all the time up to now.

In any case, it's still better, IMO, to just double-click on the path in Everything, using the above binding.

bitfidelity
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:46 am

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by bitfidelity » Tue Jun 07, 2016 1:29 am

This isn't working for me. I have XYplorer installed in the default directory in 64-bit Windows 10 and have the following in Everything:

$exec("‪C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")

Yet when I hit "Explore Path," I get this error: Windows cannot find 'C:\Program Files (x86'. What am I formatting wrong?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6067
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by void » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:03 am

Don't forget to escape ( and ):

Code: Select all

$exec("‪C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")

bitfidelity
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:46 am

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by bitfidelity » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:10 am

Thanks. But strangely, it still doesn't work even though the path in the error message is definitely correct:

Windows cannot find 'C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe'.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6067
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by void » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:16 am

Please try running Everything in debug mode.

What is displayed in the debug console after clicking Explorer Path in Everything?

therube
Posts: 2853
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by therube » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:21 am

You need to escape the parens in the filename/pathname.
And in this case, the '$' is used as the escape character (along with the paren).

from:

Code: Select all

$exec("‪C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
to:

Code: Select all

$exec("‪C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")

bitfidelity
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:46 am

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by bitfidelity » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:29 am

void wrote:Please try running Everything in debug mode.

What is displayed in the debug console after clicking Explorer Path in Everything?
I get some message about how it failed to execute C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe. Error code 1223.

therube
Posts: 2853
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by therube » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:44 am

1223 (assuming it the same 1223) says its a "cancel" (whatever that might mean).

So something that could be interfering with the execution of XYplorer.exe?

therube
Posts: 2853
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by therube » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:46 am

As a test, create a temporary directory, C:\TMP\DUMY
Copy the contents from the XYplorer directory into C:\TMP\DUMY.
(Actually the single file, XYplorer.exe, will suffice for testing.)


In Everything, change the Open Path to:

Code: Select all

$exec("‪C:\TMP\DUMY\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
What happens with that?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6067
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore

Post by void » Tue Jun 07, 2016 3:48 am

Error 1223:

Code: Select all

ERROR_CANCELLED
1223 The operation was canceled by the user. 

TTTTII
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:58 pm

Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explorer

Post by TTTTII » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:05 pm

Was having trouble escaping the (x86), so all I did was drop a junction in "Program Files." Works fine.

Code: Select all

$exec("‪C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
EDIT: Hmm. Must have had a typo, then looked at this old thread. It works just fine, for me at least, to simply escape the parentheses in the path with "$" as recommended in documentation. Originally suggested dropping a junction, which is unnecessary. I left that up there just in case....

There's no problem with this:

Code: Select all

$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" %1)
***

This thread is rather old. Just want to add my two cents about Everything and XYplorer being my two most valuable tools; the developer of XY is exceedingly active putting in new features, and very responsive (sound familiar?) on his forum accepting ideas, etc.

Thank you again for "Everything." I'll keep dropping you a donation periodically - you certainly deserve it. Does one thing, absolutely beautifully, with no bloat and great flexibility.

Post Reply