[Feature Request] Use Properties to rename files

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
HASJ
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:39 pm

[Feature Request] Use Properties to rename files

Post by HASJ » Wed Apr 07, 2021 12:19 pm

Renaming multiple files with Everything is already one of the best features but using RegEx AND Properties would make it brilliant!
Some unique variable, like *height, *length (changing ":" to either dots or semi-colons).

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6678
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [Feature Request] Use Properties to rename files

Post by void » Thu Apr 08, 2021 11:48 am

Thank you for your feedback and suggestion HASJ,

The plan is to add preprocessor support to the multi-file renamer.

Syntax will look something like:

#height:
-or-
#get-property:<height>

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6678
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [Feature Request] Use Properties to rename files

Post by void » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:33 am

I have added #height: and #width: for testing in Everything 1.5.0.1254a.

(#height: and #width: are currently undocumented in the UI)

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6678
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [Feature Request] Use Properties to rename files

Post by void » Fri Apr 23, 2021 5:53 am

Everything 1.5.0.1255a adds full preprocessor support to the multi-file-renamer.

You can also now add almost all properties from the > button to the right of the New Format.

JTCGiants56
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: [Feature Request] Use Properties to rename files

Post by JTCGiants56 » Mon Apr 26, 2021 3:17 am

I noticed a slight glitch when sorting by a custom property and renaming a file. For example sorting by video length.

I can't replicate this 100% of the time, but after you rename the file, the file quickly moves to the bottom of the sort list temporarily, then zips back to its current spot in the list. This doesn't happen every time to me, but sometimes.

Not really a bug, more a minor annoyance.

Edit: I'm guessing because temporarily as the file is renamed there is no index of the property for the new name, thus putting it to the bottom. Then once it rescans for the property it puts it back in its place.

Post Reply