Change the format of the selected item in the status bar

General discussion related to "Everything".
Post Reply
void
Developer
Posts: 15096
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Change the format of the selected item in the status bar

Post by void »

Changing the format of the selected item in the status bar has been added to Everything 1.4.0.709b.

To change the selected item format:
  • Completely Exit Everything.
  • Open your %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini
  • Change the following line:

    Code: Select all

    statusbar_selected_item_format=format
    where format is the new format.
    String substitution can be used with the following values:
    • $$ - A single $
    • $f - Full path and file name
    • $n - Name
    • $p - Path
    • $s - Size
    • $e - Extension
    • $t - Type
    • $m - Date modified
    • $c - Date created
    • $a - Date accessed
    • $b - Attributes
    • $d - Date recently changed
    • $r - Run count
    • $u - Date last run
    • $l - File list file name
  • For example to change the selected item format to show the full path and file name:

    Code: Select all

    statusbar_selected_item_format=$f
  • Save changes and restart Everything.
Leave statusbar_selected_item_format empty to show the information for each shown column:

Code: Select all

statusbar_selected_item_format=
salazor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:52 am

Re: Change the format of the selected item in the status bar

Post by salazor »

David - and what separator use if you want to display eg: Name, Size, Date modified, Date created
therube
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Change the format of the selected item in the status bar

Post by therube »

Just include the literal characters.

So if you wanted full file name, some spaces, bar character, size, use:

Code: Select all

$f            |   $s
That gives you; full name, 12 spaces, bar, 3 spaces, size.
therube
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Change the format of the selected item in the status bar

Post by therube »

Would be nice if you could also specify the format a multi-item selection too.

So instead of: 2 objects selected, or 2 of 18 objects selected
You could have: 2 objects selected, 1,048,576

(That would also allow "size" to be displayed in multiple "ways". Size itself could be "short" mode, so the default KB/MB/GB... & a multi-select as say bytes, so 1 MB in one spot & 1,048,576 in another.)


[And if you went that far even the terminology used could be user defined, so if you didn't want to see "object selected", you just don't include that as part of the variable string. Or if you wanted it to read "2 goblins selected", you could do that too. {And make it fun for Halloween. Boo!}]
void
Developer
Posts: 15096
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Change the format of the selected item in the status bar

Post by void »

Would be nice if you could also specify the format a multi-item selection too.
Good idea, added to my TODO list.
This format would only allow for the number of selected objects, the total number of results, the total selection size and the total result size.
(That would also allow "size" to be displayed in multiple "ways". Size itself could be "short" mode, so the default KB/MB/GB... & a multi-select as say bytes, so 1 MB in one spot & 1,048,576 in another.)
Noted on my TODO list.
[And if you went that far even the terminology used could be user defined, so if you didn't want to see "object selected", you just don't include that as part of the variable string. Or if you wanted it to read "2 goblins selected", you could do that too. {And make it fun for Halloween. Boo!}]
Basic scripting for only displaying strings under a certain condition could be done, maybe something similar to the title format:

Code: Select all

$selected_count=1?{1 object selected}$selected_count!=1?{$selected_count objects selected}
to differentiate between object and objects.
Splitting the counts into file and folders counts might be possible too. eg: 2 files and 3 folders selected.
I'm also consider color codes to change the font color eg: #ff0000 could make the text red for a certain part. This would have to happen in Everything 1.5 as I need to implement my own status bar..

Thanks for your suggestions.
Post Reply