Page 1 of 1

Auto include new fixed volumes

Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:51 pm
by Stamimail
I have this config:
https://i.snipboard.io/zORvLA.jpg

When I plug in a drive (with lot of volumes) via usb, the DB is been updated, even though the auto includes are disabled.
I don't want that Everything will index that drive and its volumes.

Re: Auto include new fixed volumes

Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:59 pm
by void
Please disable Include in database for the volumes on the USB drive:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the NTFS tab.
  • For each volume on the USB drive:
    • Uncheck Include in database.
  • Click OK.
If you wish to keep the volume in your Everything index, please try disabling monitor changes:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the NTFS tab.
  • For each volume on the USB drive:
    • Uncheck Monitor changes.
  • Click OK.
Do you have any folder indexes under Tools -> Options -> Folders?

Re: Auto include new fixed volumes

Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:11 pm
by Stamimail
Do you have any folder indexes under Tools -> Options -> Folders?
No.

I'm trying to test a drive with 20 volumes in it.
I'm plugging it via USB.
But I don't want it will affect Everything.
I don't need Everything spent the time to index all those volumes.
What are the "auto include"s checkboxes good for?!

Re: Auto include new fixed volumes

Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:24 pm
by void
Any ReFS volumes on the USB drive?
Please make sure Tools -> Options -> ReFS -> Automatically include fixed volumes is unchecked.
Please make sure Tools -> Options -> ReFS -> Automatically include removable volumes is unchecked.

Which volume under Tools -> Options -> NTFS has Include in database checked where it shouldn't?

Re: Auto include new fixed volumes

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:19 am
by Stamimail
All the new volumes are added automatically to NTFS tab in Everything.
No volume is added to ReFS tab.
Which volume under Tools -> Options -> NTFS has Include in database checked where it shouldn't?
All the new volumes that are added. In the screenshot above you can see some of them. All are "Include in database" checked. it shouldn't.