ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Found a bug in "Everything"? report it here
Post Reply
stevelon
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:29 pm

ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by stevelon » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:45 pm

Hi. I was delighted to see a 64 bit version was available. It cured some out of memory issues when scanning drives.

I also make use of your es.exe command line program for various things, and unfortunately this no longer works with this new version of Everything.

Perhaps there's an issue cropped up between 649 and 653 but more likely it's just the fact that es.exe is incompatible with a 64 bit Everything.

Could you possibly build a 64-bit version of es.exe when you get a chance?

Many thanks.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by void » Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:33 am

Ah, this is a bug in the x64 version, I will post a fix soon.

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by void » Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:50 am

"Everything" version 1.3.3.656b or later should fix the issue.

stevelon
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:29 pm

Re: ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by stevelon » Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:05 pm

Thanks for the quick reply. Unfortunately, while es no longer fails completely with build 656, it doesn't work correctly either.

There are two problems (that I've noticed)
1. It seems to ignore the first two characters in the search pattern
i.e. if I ran "es 123456" it returns a match set as if I'd typed es "3456"
It comes back with the correct results if I put two padding characters in the pattern e.g. "es xx123456"

2. It returns 1 less result than the main everything program does for the same pattern
if the main everything program returns 12 matches for "123456", then "es xx123456" only returns the first 11 matches.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by void » Sun Jun 23, 2013 1:35 am

Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Fixed for the next beta update.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by void » Mon Jun 24, 2013 5:08 am

This issue should be fixed in 657b.

stevelon
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 5:29 pm

Re: ES.EXE and Version 1.3.3.653 (x64)

Post by stevelon » Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:13 pm

Many thanks. Yes build 657 has fixed it.

Post Reply