Two bugs.

Found a bug in "Everything"? report it here
Post Reply
vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Sun Jun 16, 2013 2:18 pm

1.Everything does something different now which my antivirus(avast)don't like.If I disable the File System Shield,then it's ok but if not,if I try to search for .exe,Everything will freeze(it's fine on 649).

2.Not really a problem but,columns that don't exist in 649 are removed from the ini and next time I start 653,I have to enable them again.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:55 am

Thanks for the bug report.
1.Everything does something different now which my antivirus(avast)don't like.If I disable the File System Shield,then it's ok but if not,if I try to search for .exe,Everything will freeze(it's fine on 649).
Have you installed the Everything service?
Are you running Everything as administrator?
2.Not really a problem but,columns that don't exist in 649 are removed from the ini and next time I start 653,I have to enable them again.
*If you wish to run multiple versions, please use the portable version of Everything, with each version in it's own unique folder.

nagan
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by nagan » Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:35 am

1.Everything does something different now which my antivirus(avast)don't like.If I disable the File System Shield,then it's ok but if not,if I try to search for .exe,Everything will freeze(it's fine on 649).
Yes strangely even Online armor records unusual activity while searching for say size:<10b.
void wrote: If you wish to run multiple versions, please install each version into it's own unique folder.
I believe prior to 653b any version (besides being given a instance name) even if it runs from its own folder should also essentially have the store settings in Appdata --OFF.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:10 am

*Yes %appdata% should be disabled and you should use the portable versions if you wish to run multiple versions at the same time.

The new ini settings will be reset if you run an older version of Everything.

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:58 am

void wrote:Have you installed the Everything service?
Are you running Everything as administrator?
No and I am running it as administrator...plus I'm on WindowsXP
With 649(and any other version I used till now)I never had that problem no matter how fast I scroll a list with tons of exe files.

Now on the newest beta if the list contains more than 15 or 20 exe files(I think),Everything will freeze(causing huge cpu usage)
void wrote:*If you wish to run multiple versions, please use the portable version of Everything, with each version in it's own unique folder
I am using the portable version but nvm...I use the 649 because of the problem above

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:26 am

Does this issue occur with both x64 and x86?

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:30 am

I'm on x86

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Mon Jun 17, 2013 8:56 am

Ok,now that's weird.
In the Avast file system shield=>Settings=>Scan When Opening=>there is an option here to scan all files(which is disabled for performance reasons)

If I enable that option(which according to the help file "Alternatively, you can specify that all files should be scanned, however this could slow your system down quite significantly while the scan is in progress."),then it works almost the same way as 649b...with that option disabled,on 649 I get the icons faster

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:13 am

It sounds like this is related to loading icons?

What happens if you scroll the icons out of view with the horizontal scrollbar (you might have to resize a column to be really wide) does Everything scroll faster?

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:20 am

It still freeze even if the file name column is not visible at all and I leave only the Name and path columns

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:24 am

Does the issue still occur if you disable all columns except for Name and Path?

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:28 am

void wrote:Does the issue still occur if you disable all columns except for Name and Path?
I said above that I tried with only Name and Path but it happens again.
I also just tried with name only(make the name column really wide,type \ for search=>switch to Executables=>move the bottom slider to the end(to not see the icons)and when I tried to scroll twice,Everything freeze

nagan
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by nagan » Tue Jun 18, 2013 4:12 am

I too use AVAST , but have not encountered such freezes. Meanwhile try including the working Everything Folder to the Avast menu>>Settings>>Global exclusion and see if it makes any difference.

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:16 am

It's still the same.
There is an option to exclude what I want and what kind of scanning to not do(upon file read,write or execute)
I added exe to the list and if I add a checkbox only to "read"(to not scan the file when I read it),Everything started to get the icons as fast as 649 and no freezing at all.

So I found two possible fixes by changing avast settings but using any of them don't seem like a good idea

nagan
Posts: 302
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by nagan » Wed Jun 19, 2013 7:36 am

@vsub,
Do you mean despite adding Everything working folder to the AVAST Global exclusion , AVAST interferes with the program and does not allow to load search results properly? Probably you should report it to them.

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:32 am

I added the folder but it was the same.
Adding everything to any list has nothing to do with it.In this beta(653),Everything get info for the icons is some different way compared to 649 and that different way triggers avast "scan or read" function of the real time shield and for some reason when he does that Everything freeze if there are many exe files on the list.

It won't freeze when I search for exe if:
1.Stop the real time file shield
2.Make avast scan all files upon read(which decrease the pc performance and Everything get the icons 2 or 3 times slower)
3.Add to the exclude list the exe extension and make avast to not scan the file when I read it(everything read the file to get the icon)...this makes everything to get the icon really fast(as fast as if the shield is disabled)

If I don't do any of those,when I search for exe(even when I type .e and scroll down to many exe files),Everything CPU sage will go to 45%(and more)and I can't do anything except to kill the process.

Today I also tried that beta on another pc with the exact same OS,avast and avast settings and the same thing happen.

This has never happen before on any beta

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:09 am

What is displayed in the debug console when showing lots of exes?

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Wed Jun 19, 2013 11:30 am

I just open everything and the console,paste .exe and this is what happens

Code: Select all

WM_ACTIVATE 00000000 00000000, lastfocus 00620a7a, current focus 00620a7a
WM_ACTIVATE 00000002 00000000, lastfocus 00620a7a, current focus 00000000
search '.exe' filter '!nocase:nopath:nowholeword:nodiacritics:noregex:<"C:\Docu
ents and Settings\Admin\Recent\">'
FOLDER SEARCH C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Recent
term 00196ba0, flags: 0140, next: 00185f08, notnext: 00000000
folderop: 2, fileop: 2, term: .exe
term 00185f08, flags: 0544, next: 00000000, notnext: 00000000
folderop: 196, fileop: 196, term: C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Recent

found 1 folders, size 65808, db search time taken: 0.001069 seconds
found 1733 files, size 65812, db search time taken: 0.010190 seconds
found 0 run history in 0.000003 seconds
finished sort, time taken 0.000092 seconds
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waiting...
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waited 0.000118 seconds
Updating \\?\Volume{77f6ec2d-8759-11e0-9168-806d6172696f} (D:):
update filesystem D:
waiting for 2 handles, isdelay 0...
updated in 0.000123 seconds
waiting for 2 handles, isdelay 1...
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waiting...
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waited 0.000118 seconds
Updating \\?\Volume{77f6ec2c-8759-11e0-9168-806d6172696f} (C:):
update filesystem C:
waiting for 1 handles, isdelay 1...
updated in 0.000163 seconds
waiting for 1 handles, isdelay 1...
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waiting...
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waited 0.000643 seconds
DeviceIoControl already complete (C:)!
DeviceIoControl already complete (D:)!
update filesystem C:
waiting for 1 handles, isdelay 1...
waiting for 1 handles, isdelay 0...
_DB_WAIT: db_get_result_count waiting...
And this if I disable the shield

Code: Select all

WM_ACTIVATE 00000000 00000000, lastfocus 00790a44, current focus 00790a44
WM_ACTIVATE 00000001 00000000, lastfocus 00790a44, current focus 00000000
search '.exe' filter '!nocase:nopath:nowholeword:nodiacritics:noregex:<"C:\Docum
ents and Settings\Admin\Recent\">'
FOLDER SEARCH C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Recent
term 00196ba0, flags: 0140, next: 00185f08, notnext: 00000000
folderop: 2, fileop: 2, term: .exe
term 00185f08, flags: 0544, next: 00000000, notnext: 00000000
folderop: 196, fileop: 196, term: C:\Documents and Settings\Admin\Recent\

found 1 folders, size 65808, db search time taken: 0.001079 seconds
found 1733 files, size 65812, db search time taken: 0.012029 seconds
found 0 run history in 0.000003 seconds
finished sort, time taken 0.000118 seconds
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waiting...
_DB_WAIT: _db_ready_proc waited 0.000097 seconds
Also when it's disable,when I scroll to load new icons,no new info is added to the console

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:27 pm

Thanks for the debug info.

I have installed Avast on a Windows XP x86 SP2 vm and have found the following:

When Everything gets the icon of an executable with SHGetFileInfo, Avast hooks this call and checks the exe for viruses, however upon doing this it sets the date last accessed timestamp, which in turn causes Everything to update and get stuck in a loop of getting icons/updating.

For now, I recommend disabling date last accessed if you don't use it.

-or-

You can disable Everything from updating icons by setting the following ini setting:

Code: Select all

extended_information_cache_monitor=0
I have fixed this issue for the next beta update.

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:57 pm

void wrote: For now, I recommend disabling date last accessed if you don't use it.
I was wondering what's the point of Last Access since every time I want to get any kind of information about a file,the Last Access was always the current time...so avast is the reason for it

I set that to 1 and it started to work fast again,no more freezing...you could say that I never used last access anywhere because of what I said above,and since that will increase the pc performance,I'll keep it that way.
void wrote:You can disable Everything from updating icons by setting the following ini setting:

Code: Select all

extended_information_cache_monitor=0
What do you mean by that...do you mean that the icons won't be loaded?
If yes...they are still loaded.
Or they won't be updated if the registry key is removed?
void wrote:I have fixed this issue for the next beta update.
Thanks

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:04 pm

What do you mean by that...do you mean that the icons won't be loaded?
If yes...they are still loaded.
Or they won't be updated if the registry key is removed?
Icons will continue to update with the date last accessed registry key disabled.
With extended_information_cache_monitor set to 0, icons will still load and display, however they will not update when the file changes.

For example, when you download an .exe file and it is visible in Everything when you start to download it, Everything will load the default icon for it (because the file was empty at the time everything loaded the icon for it). With extended_information_cache_monitor set to 1, Everything will update the icon when the exe has finished downloading.

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:07 pm

Now I understand :)
But when the icon will be updated then...upon forced update on the database or when I exit the program and run it again?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5454
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Two bugs.

Post by void » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:11 pm

After you close and reopen the search window or after pressing F5.

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:13 pm

Ok,thanks,I think I'll keep it that way(set to 0)since the icon can be updated that easily

vsub
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Two bugs.

Post by vsub » Thu Jun 20, 2013 7:44 am

Works fine now on the newest beta(656)

Post Reply