Shift+DEL Is Broken

Found a bug in "Everything"? report it here
Post Reply
therube
Posts: 2855
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by therube » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:25 pm

Shift+DEL Is Broken, not working.

The icon seems to grey out, kind of, but no Delete dialog appears.
A regular DEL does work as expected.

If you select Delete from the context menu, while holding down Shift, then the permanently delete dialog appears as expected.

1.3.1.636b

vsub
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by vsub » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:39 pm

It's not,I thought it's a bug too but for some reason Shift+Delete was added to the Cut shortcut and I definitely didn't added it there.
After removing it,everything was fine

therube
Posts: 2855
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by therube » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:22 pm

Ah, you're right.
But then I also had to add Shift+DEL to the Delete (Permanently) key binding.

Thanks.

vsub
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:51 am

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by vsub » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:31 pm

I clicked on the Restore Default button to fix all keys(if there are other such cased)

I just tried deleting the ini and started Everything again but everything was ok then...maybe something got wrong when updating from the previous beta to the current(I just replaced the exe and started the program)

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by void » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:34 pm

There is a bug in the earlier Everything beta version 1.3.1.632b that would add the shortcut Shift + DEL to the Permanently delete and Cut commands.

When pressing Shift + DEL Everything would only cut the items, not delete them.

This problem is fixed in 1.3.1.636b.
However you will need to restore defaults in the keyboard options.

To restore defaults in the keyboard options:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Keyboard tab.
  • Click Restore defaults.
  • Click OK.

Elbart
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by Elbart » Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:29 am

I think there's another shortcut which should be set by default: Ctrl+A for "Select All" in the results list. In 636 it's not set to any shortcut.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by void » Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:36 am

Ctrl + A (Result List) Should to bound to Edit | Select All by default.

Elbart
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by Elbart » Tue Mar 05, 2013 1:06 pm

Well, true. Restoring the defaults shows that Ctrl+A is set as default.
Apparently it wasn't such a good idea to install 1.3 in the same directory as 1.2 after all.
EDIT:

Everything.ini before the update and after the update and after launching version 1.3:

Code: Select all

edit_select_all_key=0x01410000
In the program this is shown as if there's no shortcut for "Select all".

After resetting to defaults:

Code: Select all

edit_select_all_key=8513

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6073
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Shift+DEL Is Broken

Post by void » Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:29 am

Thanks for pointing this out..

I have added support old 1.2 alpha keys to my "Things to do" list.

Post Reply