turkish 'i' search problem

Found a bug in "Everything"? report it here
Post Reply
gokhan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:11 pm

turkish 'i' search problem

Post by gokhan » Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:40 pm

in turkish alphabet capital 'I' and lower case 'i' are different letters.

'I' and 'ı' are same letters

'İ' and 'i' are same letters

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkish_alphabet#Letters

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkish_do ... _dotless_I


when i search "ticaret", everything doesnt show me "TİCARET". but they are same words. it is different from english alphabet.

i hope you can fix it..

gokhan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: turkish 'i' search problem

Post by gokhan » Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:24 pm

is anyone interest with this problem ?

therube
Posts: 2728
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: turkish 'i' search problem

Post by therube » Thu Dec 22, 2011 7:59 pm

Perhaps this is the issue, *utf8_t: compare functions should return correct character differences in unicode?

Though if so, nothing we can do except wait for the next release.

gokhan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 8:11 pm

Re: turkish 'i' search problem

Post by gokhan » Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:16 pm

thanks for reply

ahmeterden
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 1:58 pm

Re: turkish 'i' search problem

Post by ahmeterden » Sat Jul 11, 2020 2:06 pm

Hi All.

This is the steps have to be taken in order to solve that problem:

1) Exit "Everything" by right clicking to system tray icon.
2) Open "%APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini" file.
3) Change "fast_ascii_search" from 1 to 0 and save the file.
3) Start Everything.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: turkish 'i' search problem

Post by void » Sun Jul 12, 2020 12:07 am

You can also disable the fast ASCII search option from within the Everything UI:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Search tab on the left.
  • Uncheck Fast ASCII search.
  • Click OK.

Post Reply