how do i exclude folders from my search?

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
BigDan
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 23, 2017 9:24 pm

how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by BigDan » Wed Jan 27, 2021 7:03 am

i'd like to exclude a folder or a parent folder. how do i do so?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6081
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by void » Wed Jan 27, 2021 7:15 am

Please try the NOT operator: !

For example, to exclude: C:\Windows from your results:

!C:\Windows\


To exclude C:\Program files from your results:

!"c:\program files\"

Note the double quotes to escape spaces.

jsampson45
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by jsampson45 » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:13 am

I wanted to find files with "hepm" in the name,but not in the folder FileHistory. So I typed "hepm !G:\FileHistory". This found nothing. "hepm" by itself found all the files with "hepm" in the name, as expected. So exactly how does one use the NOT operator?

NotNull
Posts: 2699
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by NotNull » Tue Feb 09, 2021 11:21 am

Code: Select all

 hepm !"G:\FleHistory\"

jsampson45
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by jsampson45 » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:51 pm

Thanks, but this also finds nothing.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6081
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by void » Wed Feb 10, 2021 12:43 am

Please try the following search:

hepm !g:\filehistory\


-If the folder is different to the above and contains a space, please escape the space with double quotes:
For example:
hepm !"g:\file history\"

Please make sure regex is uncheck under the Search menu.

jsampson45
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: how do i exclude folders from my search?

Post by jsampson45 » Wed Feb 10, 2021 9:11 am

Many thanks. It seems to be working now.

Post Reply