Page 1 of 1

add an icon to the context menu?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 2:10 pm
by Laura
Is possible add an icon to the context menu on the left of "Search with Everything" ?

Thanks :)

Re: add an icon to the context menu?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 2:28 pm
by Laura
I saw in the forum that normally the icon appears in the contextual menu, in my case no :( I use the portable version and then launch a .reg file that I had found here to transform the text into the contextual menu in Italian.
At this point I think the problem is in the .reg and therefore I post it

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Cerca con Everything...]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Cerca con Everything...\command]
@="\"E:\\DVD - 01\\Cerca file e cartelle\\Everything\\Everything.exe\" -path \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore]
"LaunchExplorerFlags"=dword:00000018
"MultiSelectModel"="Document"
"ProgrammaticAccessOnly"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\command]
"DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open]
"MultiSelectModel"="Document"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\command]
@=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
00,5c,00,45,00,78,00,70,00,6c,00,6f,00,72,00,65,00,72,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,\
65,00,00,00
"DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewprocess]
"ExplorerHost"="{ceff45ee-c862-41de-aee2-a022c81eda92}"
"Extended"=""
"LaunchExplorerFlags"=dword:00000003
"MUIVerb"="@shell32.dll,-8518"
"MultiSelectModel"="Document"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewprocess\command]
"DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewwindow]
"LaunchExplorerFlags"=dword:00000001
"MUIVerb"="@windows.storage.dll,-8517"
"MultiSelectModel"="Document"
"OnlyInBrowserWindow"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewwindow\command]
"DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\pintohome]
"AppliesTo"="System.ParsingName:<>\"::{679f85cb-0220-4080-b29b-5540cc05aab6}\" AND System.ParsingName:<>\"::{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}\" AND System.IsFolder:=System.StructuredQueryType.Boolean#True"
"MUIVerb"="@shell32.dll,-51377"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\pintohome\command]
"DelegateExecute"="{b455f46e-e4af-4035-b0a4-cf18d2f6f28e}"

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Search Everything...]
it would be better if you could change the icon and assign one that I want ;)

Re: add an icon to the context menu?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 3:07 pm
by NotNull
So when you go to Menu:Tools > Options > General and enable Show Search Everything folder context menu item you don't get to see the Search with Everything entry? Or is it just the icon that is missing?

BTW: Your REGfile is wrong.
It should be more like (not tested):
[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\SearchEverything]
@="\"E:\\DVD - 01\\Cerca file e cartelle\\Everything\\Everything.exe\" -path \"%1\""
MUIVerb="Cerca con Everything..."
Icon="E:\DVD - 01\Cerca file e cartelle\Everything\Everything.exe"

If the first way - enabling the option in Everything - doesn't work, I can help you make the second one work.

Re: add an icon to the context menu?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 3:27 pm
by therube
Not that I know about such things, but...

Everything Language Pack can be found here.

Seemingly the context menu is translatable:

Code: Select all

FOLDER_CONTEXT_MENU = "Search Everything..."
Presumably that is not translated in the existing IT language version?
So if you were to translate that, & if it were then included in the IT language pack...

Don't know if already translated languages are available (in .txt format) so all you would need to do is to translate any missing strings... ?

Re: add an icon to the context menu?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 4:01 pm
by therube
Display, or not, of the icon in the context menu may be OS (or more) related?

In Win10 (& I'd assume, Win7?) the icon does appear.
In XP, I'm not able to get it to show up?

The context menu icon (assuming it does display ;-)) can be changed to "anything".
By default, it points to Everything's "icon" (pulled from within Everything.exe), {path to everything}\Everything.exe.
It can be changed as you want, {path to wanted icon file}\a_new_icon_file_for_everything.ico.

That would go in:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\Search Everything...
-> Icon --> "{path to wanted icon file}\a_new_icon_file_for_everything.ico"

Re: add an icon to the context menu?

Posted: Fri May 17, 2019 5:19 pm
by Laura
thanks therube, your tricks worked perfectly.
Thanks also to Others ^_^