How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:15 pm

Hello.
I need this:
I need just to copy everything and es on remote pc, start everything using psexec to make a new db and starting es using psexec to search remotely. The problem is that need everything to exit just after DB creation.

Thanks in advance.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by void » Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:42 am

You will need the latest alpha release of "Everything".

Create a batch file newdb.bat in your Everything installation folder:

Code: Select all

del Everything*.db
Everything.exe -startup -quit

littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Fri Dec 25, 2009 8:50 am

Thanks for the reply.
Its strange but I can' find Everything.db Everything*.db anywhere... The tool works fine, but, don't create such a file. I use proccess monitor just to see which file the tool use, but there is nothing interesting.
Maybe parameter for db destruction will be usefull :).

Thanks in advanced.

therube
Posts: 2350
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by therube » Fri Dec 25, 2009 6:49 pm

In Everything (of course) do a search for "everything .db".
And you will find (which I hadn't expected) not necessarily "everything.db", but "Everything.RUBENXP43.RUBEN.db".
So looks to now default to Everything+Computer name+User name.db.

(I must have known that, but hadn't actually realized that that was happening. <This likely is only the case in the later alpha builds.>)

littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Sat Dec 26, 2009 8:31 am

Hello. Here is the results:
Everything.db - nothing
Everything. db - nothing
Everything*db - nothing
Everything* - nothing like database.

Can you give me the potential location of these file?
Is it possible just to use memory for that or to name the file something absolutely different like username+computername.ev or something else?
Thanks in advance.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by void » Sun Dec 27, 2009 12:02 am

The Everything.ComputerName.UserName.db file is created in the same location as your Everything.exe.

You can change the location of the db with the -db command line option or the db_location settting in the Everything.ini.

It is currently not possible to change the database file name.
Is it possible just to use memory for that.
"Everything" Creates the database in memory and does not save the database until you exit "Everything".

I have added the option to never save the database to my "Things to do" list.

littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Sun Dec 27, 2009 9:00 am

OK. This means that for me everything can't save the db file after exit.
And now I know why - I don't close everything at all. And maybe windows close it not like expected when it shutdown.
I succseed to make a db file manually - start everything, and close it from the system tray, and the db file is there. but...

"Everything.exe -startup -quit" just don't make a db file - this just pass trough everything and close it for milliseconds - no cashing, no db file.
Thanks

void
Site Admin
Posts: 4921
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by void » Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:02 pm

I will improve the option to create the DB and exit for the next release of "Everything".

littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:28 pm

Thanks! I will wait for it! :).
Now I use the stable version, check with some script when the db file stop to grow up fast and kill everything :). Its not best practice but works (not if there is some big file transfer on the server :P ).

littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Fri Mar 26, 2010 1:30 pm

I have second question and I don't want to make new topic.

How can I force Everything not to scan but just to use the current DB?

I have 4TB files and I need to scan just once and after that just to use the db file - not to scan for changes every time.

Thank you in advanced.

BR

Yavor Indzhev


littleclown
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How just to force Everything to create a DB and exit?

Post by littleclown » Sun Mar 28, 2010 10:03 am

Thank you

Post Reply