Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
davidimagitech
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:42 pm

Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by davidimagitech » Mon Jul 20, 2020 4:44 pm

Sometimes it is useful as a programmer to check the version numbers of EXEs/DLLs in a folder/in the search results.

In Windows Explorer if you hover over an EXE or DLL then its version number is displayed, and you can optionally show a File version column in the Details view too.

It would be nice if Everything supported this too (because Windows Explorer's search is pants compared to Everything :lol:).

Cheers.

NotNull
Posts: 2156
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by NotNull » Mon Jul 20, 2020 6:08 pm

davidimagitech wrote:
Mon Jul 20, 2020 4:44 pm
In Windows Explorer if you hover over an EXE or DLL then its version number is displayed, and you can optionally show a File version column in the Details view too.

It would be nice if Everything supported this too
Everything already supports that. It is Windows that is the limiting factor here.

As a test, copy Everything.exe to any folder in "c:\program files\" or your desktop an hover above it.

Stamimail
Posts: 734
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by Stamimail » Mon Jul 20, 2020 7:28 pm

Ensure you have an Original version of Everything.
In my Windows 7 there is a version number in details.
Everything has no DLL file.

therube
Posts: 2605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by therube » Mon Jul 20, 2020 8:34 pm

Is there a Pref / .ini setting that controls this?
(There must be.)

froggie
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by froggie » Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:03 pm

/listview_tooltips=0 off

/listview_tooltips=1 on

therube
Posts: 2605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by therube » Tue Jul 21, 2020 12:29 am

(I probably looked that one over, earlier, so I'm going to suppose that to see the change an Everything restart is needed?)

froggie
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by froggie » Tue Jul 21, 2020 12:55 am

No, I do not believe so.

NotNull
Posts: 2156
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by NotNull » Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:04 am

Ah .. I see that I misinterpreted the question.
It is about showing the file version of executables in Everything's tooltips / infotips

therube
Posts: 2605
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by therube » Tue Jul 21, 2020 3:38 pm

(I probably looked that one over, earlier, so I'm going to suppose that to see the change an Everything restart is needed?)
Maybe it was /show_mouseover & /show_detailed_listview_tooltips that I looked at?
Restart not needed.
But /show_detailed_listview_tooltips must be set to 1 for /listview_tooltips to be of use.

davidimagitech
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2019 4:42 pm

Re: Add version number support for EXEs/DLLs

Post by davidimagitech » Wed Jul 22, 2020 8:54 am

Some people have misunderstood the suggestion - I'm not saying that Eveything.exe lacks version information, more that there is no easy way to show the any EXEs/DLLs file version information (e.g. 1.0.5.35) that I've come across in Everything (i.e. a file version column in Eveything's ListView, and no file version information in the tooltip when hovering over a file in Everything's ListView).

Tooltips and detail tooltips are enabled in my %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini
listview_tooltips=1
show_detailed_listview_tooltips=1

A dedicated column would of course be preferable, because you can then check multiple file version numbers without having to hover and pause over each individual EXE/DLL in the search results.

Cheers.

Post Reply