Export/Import settings/colors

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
averebazmadar
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:12 pm

Export/Import settings/colors

Post by averebazmadar » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:16 pm

Please make it possible to export/import all settings (with colors). I use this awsome program on more computer and it will be great if I don't have to set up all things every time :)

Thank you for your work, you are awsome.

therube
Posts: 2882
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by therube » Fri Dec 02, 2016 5:18 pm

Copy the file, Everything.ini, from one to another.
Would that do it?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6462
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by void » Sat Dec 03, 2016 8:21 am

Settings are stored in %APPDATA%\Everything

To copy all settings:
  • Make sure Everything is not running on the new computer.
  • Copy all files from the old computer in %APPDATA%\Everything to the new computer in %APPDATA%\Everything
If you use the portable version of Everything, settings are stored in the same location as your Everything.exe.

capteelingurdian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by capteelingurdian » Sat Mar 27, 2021 8:26 am

Hi,

Does this still hold true?

Going through the dread windows reinstall.

Sincerely,

Captee

void
Site Admin
Posts: 6462
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by void » Sat Mar 27, 2021 10:01 am

Yes, this is unchanged.

Settings are still stored in %APPDATA%\Everything

Please make sure Everything is not running before copying settings:
  • Right click the Everything system tray icon and click Exit.

capteelingurdian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by capteelingurdian » Sat Mar 27, 2021 7:31 pm

Colors for some reason not coming over?

Seems there are several .ini files? Trying to re-install again.

Strangely, OTHER mods came over - like bookmarks. AND even my own custom filters? But...colors didn't make it.

What do you think is happening?

Sincerely,

Captee

NotNull
Posts: 2861
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by NotNull » Sat Mar 27, 2021 7:55 pm

In the ini file of Everything 1.5, there are 2 color themes: one dark, one standard.
The one you copied over is the standard one.

When you switch to Standard ( Menu:View > Theme > Standard ), are your colors back?

capteelingurdian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by capteelingurdian » Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:09 pm

Hello Mighty NN,
In the ini file of Everything 1.5, there are 2 color themes: one dark, one standard.
The one you copied over is the standard one.
Can't quite follow this. Please can you share an image?
When you switch to Standard ( Menu:View > Theme > Standard ), are your colors back?
Reinstall fell apart. Will try whole thing again with Everything now.

Before I had something like this:
2021-03-31_00-05-33-980.png
2021-03-31_00-05-33-980.png (67.85 KiB) Viewed 3511 times
Not sure if that helps, but just so you know what the settings are all building to.

Sincerely,

Captee
Last edited by capteelingurdian on Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

capteelingurdian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by capteelingurdian » Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:18 pm

Here's what I see at

AppData/Roamaing/Everything:
2021-03-31_00-15-50-587.png
2021-03-31_00-15-50-587.png (4.22 KiB) Viewed 3507 times

NotNull
Posts: 2861
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by NotNull » Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:39 pm

capteelingurdian wrote:
Tue Mar 30, 2021 4:09 pm
Can't quite follow this. Please can you share an image?
I can, but if this will help you ...
This is what my Everything 1.5 looks like at the moment:
2021-03-30 19_18_13-1.5.0.1251a (x64).png
2021-03-30 19_18_13-1.5.0.1251a (x64).png (50.02 KiB) Viewed 3484 times

In Everything 1.4 you can define one single colour theme.
These color settings end up in the ini file of Everything 1.4 and look like these:

Code: Select all

normal_background_color=
normal_foreground_color=
highlighted_background_color=
highlighted_foreground_color=
In Everything 1.5, you can define two colour themes. One standard and one dark.
That way you can switch from standard theme to dark theme in Everything 1.5.
For example if you want standard theme during the day and dark theme at night. It doesn't even have to be a dark theme. You could also define a light-blue and a pink theme.

In Everything-1.5a.ini you can find these same entries as in 1.4, but *also* the following dark_ ... ones (among others)

Code: Select all

normal_background_color=
normal_foreground_color=
highlighted_background_color=
highlighted_foreground_color=

dark_normal_foreground_color=
dark_normal_background_color=
dark_highlighted_foreground_color=
dark_highlighted_background_color=

Now, when you import colours from Everything 1.4, you import the normal_background_color ones. And those end up under the standard theme in Everything 1.5.

So, after importing the colour settings in 1.5, enable the Standard Theme to get your 1.4 colours (Menu:View > Theme > Standard Theme)

capteelingurdian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by capteelingurdian » Wed Mar 31, 2021 2:12 pm

Hi NN,

Got it! It's working. :mrgreen:

But, I'm confused. In checking "About" it says that I have
2021-03-31_22-08-45-020.png
2021-03-31_22-08-45-020.png (10.19 KiB) Viewed 3349 times
In clicking check for updates, the response is all up to date.

What am I missing to get to 1.5?

There's no (Menu:View > Theme > Standard Theme) in 1.4 - correct?

Sincerely,

Captee

horst.epp
Posts: 394
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by horst.epp » Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:57 pm

capteelingurdian wrote:
Wed Mar 31, 2021 2:12 pm
Hi NN,

Got it! It's working. :mrgreen:

But, I'm confused. In checking "About" it says that I have

What am I missing to get to 1.5?

There's no (Menu:View > Theme > Standard Theme) in 1.4 - correct?

Sincerely,

Captee
The version 1.5 is a Alpha version and will not be offered as update to the 1.4.
Look in viewtopic.php?f=12&t=9787
Download and install the actual alpha.

capteelingurdian
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 4:01 pm

Re: Export/Import settings/colors

Post by capteelingurdian » Thu Apr 01, 2021 2:39 pm

Ah! Gt it. THANKS! :mrgreen:

Post Reply