Displaying the size of two decimal places

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
salazor
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:52 am

Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by salazor » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:35 am

It proposes to add a display size of two decimal places for size format "Auto"

Now two places after the decimal point are displayed to 9, above is only one place.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5367
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by void » Wed Oct 05, 2016 8:29 am

Added to my TODO list, thanks for the suggestion.

ericgl
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:35 am

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by ericgl » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:14 am

Hi void,

I've been using Everything for a long time. Very useful program. So first I would like to say THANKS!!

The one big thing that's missing for me is the file/folder size accuracy.
I would like to suggest to add the option in Tools > Options > General > View.
Next to the "Size format" drop-down field, add "Decimals" drop-down with the options of 0, 1, 2.
Personally, I like to display in Size format "KB", and displaying sizes with 2 decimals would make Everything so much better.

Example screenshot:
attached.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by ericgl on Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

NotNull
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by NotNull » Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:44 am

Quick Tip:
You can change the size format in the statusbar and InfoTip independent of the format in the result list.
Like this:
2020-04-28 12_31_26-Window.png
That can be done by entering /statusbar_size_format=1 in the search bar (and press ENTER)

Other possible values:
0 Best format depending on the size.
1 Always show sizes in bytes.
2 Always show sizes in KB.
3 Always show sizes in MB.

4 Always show sizes in GB. (undocumented)

ericgl wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:14 am
Personally, I like to display in Size format "KB", and displaying sizes with 2 decimals would make Everything so much better.
Personally, I think it looks ugly that way.
Also: resolution in bytes instead of KB + 2 digits takes up less screen estate.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ericgl
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:35 am

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by ericgl » Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:04 pm

NotNull,

1. Why did you remove my screenshot? It was the perfect way to explain my suggestion. Never mind, I added it again.
2. Thanks for the tip regarding changing the size format in the statusbar, but that's not what I wanted.

I hope void will look into my suggestion. Sometimes differences between 2 files cannot be seen in KB (rounded), but with a 1 or 2 decimal accuracy, you'll spot the size difference right away.
Anyway, it's very useful for me, and I hope it will get implemented in a future version.
Last edited by ericgl on Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NotNull
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by NotNull » Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:22 pm

ericgl wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:04 pm
1. Why did you remove my screenshot? It was the perfect way to explain my suggestion.
Did I? If I did, it was certainly not intentional as this was indeed a good way to clarify what you mean.
(I have seen the screensht)

EDIT:
How do you know it was me who deleted that screenshot?
Definitely wasn't me. I don't even have the rights to edit your post.
You will have to find someone else to blame this on :).

NotNull
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by NotNull » Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:29 pm

ericgl wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:04 pm
NotNull,

1. Why did you remove my screenshot? It was the perfect way to explain my suggestion. Never mind, I added it again.
It's not visible here :?
Did you post the screenshot on the forum itself or was it a link to an external site?

ericgl
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 7:35 am

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by ericgl » Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:50 pm

I have attached the screenshot instead of linking externally. Should be visible now.

NotNull
Posts: 2030
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Displaying the size of two decimal places

Post by NotNull » Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:51 pm

It is!

Post Reply