Page 1 of 1

Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:39 pm
by s33m33
Wish to pass the path to Everything from within Total Commander using a button.
This way current folder can be searched instead of navigating from scratch.

Hope you could implement this feature in future versions. Thanks.

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:46 am
by David
Try running "Everything" with the following parameters:

Code: Select all

Everything.exe -filename %1

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:43 am
by jjk
Yes it works.
But it opens a new instance every time, not only a new window but even a new instance. I get a supplementary icon in my icon tray.
Is there any mean to avoid that ?

TIA

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 12:20 am
by daspud
On the Tools, Options, General tab there are checkboxes "Allow Multiple windows" and "Allow Multiple Instances", Are they both unchecked? If not try that.

I don't know if that will fix what you want, but that is what came to mind.

Bob Roos

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:37 am
by jjk
Thank you Bob, but it doesn't work neither.

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 12:17 am
by daspud
I don't have TC, but I just tried the options using the DOS command prompt window and unchecking the "Allow multiple windows" on the general tab of the options settings in everything does restrict my test to one window BUT I had to completely terminate everything (including the icon in the system tray) before it took effect.

This may not be exactly the same at TC, but I think it should be close. Let me know.

Bob

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 7:04 am
by jjk
Yes, from TC I have also to completely terminate Everything (including the icon in the system tray).
So I don't beg for only one window, but I beg for only one instance in order to not have to terminate EvTh because one instance is added on every search from TC.

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:27 am
by David
Are you using the -instance parameter from TC?

Does the same problem occur when you run "Everything" from Windows Explorer?

or from the desktop / quick launch shortcut to "Everything"?

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Fri Jun 26, 2009 6:13 am
by jjk
Are you using the -instance parameter from TC?
No, sorry. I did not see that parameter.

Now it works as expected.
Very thanks

Re: Button to Search current folder in File Manager

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:11 pm
by s33m33
Sorry for late reply.

Thanks David, it works just fine as you said. Great Tip. :)