Which INI is used?

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
NotNull
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Which INI is used?

Postby NotNull » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:49 pm

A suggestion to display the INI that is used by Everything.

For example: in the Help > About dialog box

Or in the title-bar of the option dialog. Something like this:

2017-07-14 17_37_34-Everything Options (c__Tools_Everything_Everything.ini).png

Maybe the title-bar is not such a good idea; longer paths won't fit ..
EDIT: Or ... Show the INI location in the debug console.

These are just some examples. Any other location would do, I guess.


Displaying the location of the INI file might be helpful in troubleshooting.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3491
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Which INI is used?

Postby void » Sat Jul 15, 2017 6:19 am

When you press Ctrl + ~ to show the debug console, at the top of the console shows appdata 1 or appdata 0
when appdata is 1, the Everything.ini is located in %APPDATA%\Everything
when appdata is 0, the Everything.ini is located in the same location as your Everything.exe

This is the same setting under Tools -> Options -> General -> Store settings and data in %APPDATA%\Everything.

To open the current Everything.ini:
Type in the following search and press ENTER:
about:config

This should open the Everything in notepad, if you choose the save as option from the File menu, the save as dialog should open up to the exact path.

Showing the path in the option window dialog may work.
It could also be shown in the General page when hovering over the %appdata% setting.
I hope to add a statistic page in a future release, the ini location could be added to that too, it would make copying the location to the clipboard easy..

Thanks for the suggestions.

NotNull
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Which INI is used?

Postby NotNull » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:43 am

Thanks for the about:config idea. That does the trick! (although I didn't ask this for my personal situation; that's just .exe and .ini in one folder. I can manage that ;-) )

After reconsidering: the title-bar idea has some issues:
Suppose you are using instances; that will (default) lead to a very long title ...


Return to “Suggestions”