Is it possible to have an inline regex rename?

General discussion related to "Everything".
Post Reply
TTTTII
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 11:58 pm

Is it possible to have an inline regex rename?

Post by TTTTII » Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:48 pm

If so, I'd love an example. If not, that's good to know too. I believe I've set the .ini settings properly for it to be possible...? Just can't seem to get the syntax right or find documentation or something in the forums.

I assume if it is possible that a move on rename would work as well, working along the entire path?

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5558
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Is it possible to have an inline regex rename?

Post by void » Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:33 am

Everything has a rename navigation feature.

When enabled, you can press Up / Down to quickly rename and move to the next/previous file to rename.

To enable rename navigation:
  • In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
    /rename_nav=1
  • If successful, you should see rename_nav=1 in the status bar for a few seconds.
Everything has a multi-file renamer with regex support.

To use the multi-file renamer you will need to select more than one result and press F2, or right click the results and click Rename.
Are you trying to rename a single file with regex support? For example, to find and replace text in a single filename?
Are you trying to rename multiple files?
I assume if it is possible that a move on rename would work as well, working along the entire path?
You can specify a full path to move a file.

NotNull
Posts: 2156
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Is it possible to have an inline regex rename?

Post by NotNull » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:27 pm

void wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:33 am
Everything has a rename navigation feature.
Cool!! How did I miss this ...

My file manager (Q-Dir) has this feature too and it is very useful when renaming files that belong together (i.e. Everything-instance.ini and Everything-instance.db )


Related suggestion (inspired by Q-Dir behaviour):
After pressing F2 to rename a file, subsequent pressing F2 rotates between selecting the basename, the extension and the whole filename.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 5558
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Is it possible to have an inline regex rename?

Post by void » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:48 am

After pressing F2 to rename a file, subsequent pressing F2 rotates between selecting the basename, the extension and the whole filename.
Added to my TODO list.
Thanks for the suggestion.

Inline renaming will also be possible by default in future releases with the TAB key (same as Windows Explorer).

Post Reply