ES: Does Not Work in Sandboxie

General discussion related to "Everything".
therube
Posts: 1678
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

ES: Does Not Work in Sandboxie

Postby therube » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:28 pm

Just to note:

ES, everything command line, does not work from within Sandboxie 5.16.

Open a CMD prompt from within Sandboxie
ES.exe

Everything IPC window not found, IPC unavailable.


This is with Everything running, normally, outside the sandbox.
(Don't know if Everything will run sandboxed?)

WinXP
Win7

x86 Everything & ES.
Sandboxie either x86 or x64 depending on OS

therube
Posts: 1678
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: ES: Does Not Work in Sandboxie

Postby therube » Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:33 pm

(Don't know if Everything will run sandboxed?)

Actually, I kind of did know that it does.
And it does.

And running Everything sandboxed, ES is then able to work sandboxed too.

So it is just that a sandboxed ES is unable to communicate with a not-sandboxed Everything.

WRONG.
Ignore that, I had my windows mixed up & was running ES outside the sandbox.
ES will not work, sandboxed, regardless or whether Everything is running in or out of the sandbox (or both).



(And yes, of course Everything [from outside the sandbox] can see everything in the sandbox, just not ES - if Everything isn't running sandboxed too.)

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: ES: Does Not Work in Sandboxie

Postby void » Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:31 am

From my tests with Sandboxie 5.16 (64-bit)

Everything will run in sandboxie (I used dragdrop to sandboxie).
Running Everything a second time within the sandbox will correctly bring up the first 'still running' instance.
Running ES within the sandbox will work correctly.

Running ES outside the sandbox will not communicate with the sandboxed Everything.
Running Everything outside the sandbox will not communicate with the sandboxed Everything and will start a new instance.
These are expected. Everything IPC / ES uses Windows Messaging, which would not be able to pass through sandboxie.

When running Everything outside the sandbox (with no Everything running inside the sandbox):
Running ES inside the sandbox will not communicate with Everything running outside the sandbox.
Running Everything inside the sandbox will not communicate with Everything running outside the sandbox.
Again, both are expected.

Running as administrator or with a standard user account made no difference.

Image

Is there some setting I've overlooked that allows you to communicate with Everything inside the sandbox, from outside the sandbox?
edit: I can add Window Access to Everything.exe with EVERYTHING_TASKBAR_NOTIFICATION
This will allow ES outside sandboxie to send a query to Everything in sandboxie. However, while Everything receives this query, it is unable to reply.
edit2: If I add Window Access to Everything.exe with both EVERYTHING_TASKBAR_NOTIFICATION and IPCTEST unsandboxed ES can communicate with sandboxed Everything.exe

therube
Posts: 1678
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: ES: Does Not Work in Sandboxie

Postby therube » Mon Mar 06, 2017 9:17 pm

Oops, just bumping to remind myself to get back to this...

named instance will be one of the issues i ran into
sandboxed ES.exe vs non-sandboxed Everything may be the crux of issue.


Return to “General”