voidpad

General discussion related to "Everything".
void
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

voidpad

Postby void » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:10 am

voidpad - A lite notepad replacement for Windows.

http://www.voidtools.com/voidpad-1.0.0.2a.x64.zip
http://www.voidtools.com/voidpad-1.0.0.2a.x86.zip
http://www.voidtools.com/License.txt


voidpad treats files as binary and displays them in the IBM PC (customizable) code page.


Image

Image
Image
Image

Stock font bitmap: http://www.voidtools.com/voidpad-font.bmp

froggie
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby froggie » Wed Aug 17, 2016 10:48 pm

Nice. I like small and very fast, even with large files.

But I am having trouble with the options. Tab & Font work but Context Menu does not. Also, is there any to save these settings between executions of the program? (windows 7 64bit) or do they have to be reset each time?

therube
Posts: 1678
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby therube » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:47 am

32-bit version looks to be working.
(Running sandboxed, Win7 x64) looks to store its settings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\voidPad.


(Oh Wow6432Node. Never knew anything like that existed before. Interesting.)

froggie
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 10:43 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby froggie » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:23 am

32-bit version looks to be working.
(Running sandboxed, Win7 x64) looks to store its settings in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\voidPad.


Tried 32 bit version, it does save its settings, context menu does not work here either. No Void.... key in registry for 64-bit version.

Same issue with VoidImageViewer not savings its settings & associations.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby void » Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:07 am

Changing the context menu options will only work if you run voidpad as administrator.

Settings are stored in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\voidPad.
Wow6432Node is used if you run the x86 version on a x64 OS.

adamiks
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 8:37 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby adamiks » Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:34 pm

maybe you can think about adding filtering lines in notepad
with searching like in everything
where you dont have to know the correct word order
and you can filter fast whole file:)

maybe even with option to show lines before and after matched phrase:)

just a suggestion

im looking for fast tool for filtering log files
but there is no really simple solution
and i see this like a everything for files
just lines of text instead list of files

ovg
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:19 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby ovg » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:22 am

Dear David!
Does voidpad support Cyrillic? (Russian language).

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby void » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:09 am

Thanks for the line filter suggestion.

Does voidpad support Cyrillic? (Russian language).


voidPad is a single-byte code page text editor. It does not support Unicode.

With some modding it could support code page 1251.

You would need to create your own bitmap font to match code page 1251 and set the code page in voidpad to 1251.

ovg
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 7:19 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby ovg » Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:13 am

@void
Thanks for hint!

punxsutawney72
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby punxsutawney72 » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:08 am

On my computer voidpad (x86) stores my change to "Tab size" (2 spaces instead of the default 4 spaces) correctly in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\voidpad\voidpad_tab_size but fails to re-load this value after re-start ("Tab size" = 4 spaces again). Same result if I start voidpad as admin.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby void » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:06 am

Thanks for the bug report.

Please rename
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\voidpad\voidpad_tab_size
to:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\voidpad\tab_size

I've added this to my TODO list to fix.

punxsutawney72
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 6:50 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby punxsutawney72 » Thu Mar 30, 2017 7:29 am

Problem solved by applying the workaround.

Thank you void for sharing your nifty tools with us.

WanderMax
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:31 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby WanderMax » Mon May 08, 2017 12:59 am

@void, can you setup the download page of these tools in your main site http://www.voidtools.com/
I think it may be better .
Thanks.

void
Site Admin
Posts: 3494
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: voidpad

Postby void » Mon May 08, 2017 1:44 am

Yes, voidpad needs a couple fixes first.
voidimageviewer is not ready for release yet.
I'll have a look at both of them after the Everything 1.4 release.


Return to “General”