Can I use a dark theme for everything?

General discussion related to "Everything".
geek
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2016 4:18 am

Can I use a dark theme for everything?

Postby geek » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:18 am

I used to use it in the night, so its original ui is too light for me, can I use a dark theme for it?

NotNull
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Can I use a dark theme for everything?

Postby NotNull » Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:50 pm

There are no themes, but you can change individual colors and styles of different types of items in the result list:
Menu:Tools > Options > Fonts and Colours

Change the "Normal" setting and most related settings change with it.

FWIW, my non-default Everything.ini colour settings are:

Code: Select all

normal_background_color=#c0c59c
normal_foreground_color=#0044aa
normal_bold=1
highlighted_foreground_color=#000000
selected_foreground_color=#ffffff


And that makes a huge difference (I dont like staring at a black on white window either; your eyes /brains get tired of that)

EDIT: If you created your 'dark theme', please post it on these forums. Others might benefit from that (I certainly will try it)

NotNull
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Can I use a dark theme for everything?

Postby NotNull » Sat Dec 09, 2017 8:28 pm

BTW: a quick way to get your non-default colour settings, is by issuing next command in a CMD / Powershell console:
(when you are in the folder where your Everything.ini is located)

Code: Select all

findstr  "_bold= _color= _font= _font_size="  .\Everything.ini | findstr /v /e "="


For most people this command will do too:
(without going to the folder where your Everything.ini is located)

Code: Select all

findstr  "_bold= _color= _font= _font_size="  "%APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini" | findstr /v /e "="

Stamimail
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:05 pm

Re: Can I use a dark theme for everything?

Postby Stamimail » Sat Dec 09, 2017 10:03 pm

geek wrote:I used to use it in the night, so its original ui is too light for me, can I use a dark theme for it?

I think that the better solution for such a case, is using a dimmer program.
There are many dimmer programs out there, letting you to dim the screen.
From my experience those programs that trying to dim the screen by using "transparent black screen" (like PangoBright), give only a partial solution (they don't manage to dim Alt+Tab screen).
Programs that change color values of a screen (Gamma), are better in this respect.
Now I'm using a program called "Twilight Screen Dimmer". It's an old program so I'm not sure you can find it on internet.
I contacted its developer, Brian, trying to improve a little this app, but it was appear that the source files lost.
... at the bottom line, that's what I got:

Code: Select all

21.9.2015
   
Hi

I would have used the Gamma Ramp API.  This is an extract found with Google:

Some video cards allows you to programmatically modify the Gamma Ramp values. You can use this feature to change the brightness of the entire screen.

The SetDeviceGammaRamp API function receive an array of 256 RGB values. Increasing the values in this array will make your screen brighter, and decreasing these values will make your screen darker. You can also increase or decrease the intensity of the red/green/blue components.

Something like this example, if it is of use:

VAR
  GammaArray: ARRAY[0..2, 0..255] OF Word;

FUNCTION GetBrightNess: integer;
VAR
  Value: integer;
BEGIN
  GammaDC := GetDC(0);

  IF NOT GetDeviceGammaRamp(GammaDC, GammaArray) THEN BEGIN
    RESULT := 0;
    EXIT;
  END;

  ReleaseDC(0, GammaDC);
  Value := GammaArray[0, 127] + GammaArray[1, 127] + GammaArray[2, 127];

  RESULT := (Value DIV 381) - 128;
END;

FUNCTION SetDisplayBrightness(Brightness: Byte): Boolean;
VAR
  I, Value: Integer;
BEGIN
  Result := False;
  GammaDC := GetDC(0);

  IF GammaDC <> 0 THEN BEGIN
    FOR I := 0 TO 255 DO BEGIN
      Value := I * (Brightness + 128);
      IF Value > 65535 THEN
        Value := 65535;
      GammaArray[0, I] := Value; // R value of I is mapped to brightness of Value
      GammaArray[1, I] := Value; // G value of I is mapped to brightness of Value
      GammaArray[2, I] := Value; // B value of I is mapped to brightness of Value
    END;

    Result := SetDeviceGammaRamp(GammaDC, GammaArray);

    ReleaseDC(0, GammaDC);
  END;
END;

I would have reduced/increased Brightness in SetDisplayBrightness with the slider.

Hope that helps

Brian

I'm not a developer, so i can't go on. :(

Anyway, my main suggestions for improvement were:

Code: Select all

My suggetsions:
1. Make it Portable, Settings will be in INI fille.
2. You should make it a way, that when the app exit or crashed, the default values are restored.
3. You may add a Parameter for the EXE, so that we can make a .lnk file with this Paramete, to Start/Exit the program by this .lnk file.


Return to “General”