[Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
aviasd
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:18 am

[Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by aviasd »

When defining a macro as per the example:
/define progfiles "C:\program files\"

typing progfiles: will return all matches for "C:\program files\", but I cannot continue filtering by typing additional queries.
I.E progfiles: office will not change the results.
It seems like everything is not processing anything after the macro.
If I inverse the query:
office progfiles:

The results are fine..
Thanks
(1.5.0.1256a (x64))
Last edited by aviasd on Fri May 07, 2021 5:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
void
Developer
Posts: 15284
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by void »

Thanks for the bug report aviasd,

Everything is currently eating all the text after the macro.

I am working on a fix..
void
Developer
Posts: 15284
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1258a fixes an issue with macros eating all remaining text.

I've also added support to list all macros with the search command:
/define

and to list the current macro search with the search command:
/define progfiles
aviasd
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by aviasd »

void wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 4:58 am Everything 1.5.0.1258a fixes an issue with macros eating all remaining text.
Confirmed. Now it's working 8-)
aviasd
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by aviasd »

void wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 4:58 am
and to list the current macro search with the search command:
/define progfiles
I think there's an issue with this feature on Everything 1.5.0.1258a,

Now trying to define a new macro is unsucessfull
Running:

Code: Select all

/define nncontent<search> notindexed:content:search:
yields:
nncontent<search> notindexed:content:search: undefined

(nncontent is not an existing macro )
void
Developer
Posts: 15284
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by void »

Please use the following syntax:

/define name=search
/define name<param>=mysearch:param:

For example:
/define nncontent<search>=notindexed:content:search:

I've updated the syntax here.

For the next alpha update, I will re-add support for:
/define name search
aviasd
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:18 am

Re: [Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by aviasd »

void wrote: Fri May 07, 2021 6:44 am Please use the following syntax:

/define name=search
/define name<param>=mysearch:param:

For example:
/define nncontent<search>=notindexed:content:search:

I've updated the syntax here.
Yes , with the equal sign it works. Didn't notice the syntax change.
Thanks
void
Developer
Posts: 15284
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by void »

It was changed to allow:
/define name
to show the current search

I thought the documentation already used /define name=search
I was wrong.
I have *just* updated the documentation.


I will re-add support for:
/define name search
void
Developer
Posts: 15284
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: [Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1259a fixes an issue with /define name search
aviasd
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 2:18 am

Re: [Fixed] Define a macro using /define, blocks further input query

Post by aviasd »

void wrote: Fri May 14, 2021 5:52 am Everything 1.5.0.1259a fixes an issue with /define name search
Confirmed, fixed
Post Reply