EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Plug-in and third party software discussion.
Post Reply
ettb
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:28 pm

EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by ettb » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:54 am

Hey all, I created a deskband that mimics Windows 10's search bar behaviour and style for seamless Everything integration into Windows 10. It features customizable "open with" commands, automatic opening rules, theming and I plan on adding more features in the future.

Check it out at: https://github.com/stnkl/EverythingToolbar

Image

maxfactor
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:31 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by maxfactor » Sat May 22, 2021 4:52 pm

Davvero niente niente male!!! Complimenti.

Coldblackice
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 12:20 am

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by Coldblackice » Mon Jun 28, 2021 10:06 am

How in the world have I not seen this til now? Wow, this is fantastic! And that's a sizeable Github following, wow. Where have you posted about this previously that so many people have found it? I'm surprised there aren't more responses in this thread.

user123
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:16 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by user123 » Thu Jul 08, 2021 4:00 pm

Doesn't work with everything 1.5.
11111sdsafdsf.jpg
11111sdsafdsf.jpg (24.6 KiB) Viewed 43461 times

void
Developer
Posts: 9818
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by void » Thu Jul 08, 2021 11:23 pm

Everything 1.5 is in alpha.

The Everything 1.5 alpha runs in its own instance to avoid interfering with your Everything 1.4 installation.

If you do not have Everything 1.4 installed, please try disabling the alpha instance:
In your Everything.exe location, create the following file:
NO_ALPHA_INSTANCE

Notes:
This file should be empty and have no extension.
Restart Everything 1.5 alpha.
Your settings will be reset.

How to make a full switch to 1.5

user123
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:16 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by user123 » Sat Jul 10, 2021 4:43 am

I'm using 1.5 for like 2 months and there are no problems, so for me 1.4 is completely useless now. I set alpha_instance=0 in Everything-1.5a.ini file, restarted service and it works now.

harryray2
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by harryray2 » Wed Jul 14, 2021 3:57 pm

Does this work with Windows 7? Thanks

horst.epp
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by horst.epp » Wed Jul 14, 2021 5:11 pm

harryray2 wrote:
Wed Jul 14, 2021 3:57 pm
Does this work with Windows 7? Thanks
I guess yes but I'm not shure.
Major Geeks says it needs 10.
It looks like that Deskbands on the Taskbar
are not recommended by Microsoft for Windows 7.

Requires .NET Framework ≥ 4.7
High DPI support requires at least Windows 10 Creators Update

__________________________________________________
Windows 10 Home x64 Version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.1110)
Everything 1.5.0.1268a (x64)

harryray2
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:56 am

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by harryray2 » Thu Jul 15, 2021 11:51 am

Thanks, it doesn't seem to work properly under Win7...

therube
Posts: 3491
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by therube » Thu Jul 15, 2021 3:13 pm

What doesn't it do properly in Win7?

Trevor22
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2021 9:15 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by Trevor22 » Mon Jul 19, 2021 12:25 am

This looks really nice. Has it been tested with Win 11?

Coldblackice
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2014 12:20 am

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by Coldblackice » Tue Jul 20, 2021 2:10 pm

This is a fantastic addon. Would it be possible to implement the standard Ctrl-Shift-F10 keyboard shortcut for opening right-click context menus (of whatever file/folders are selected)?

Currently, Shift-F10 only brings up a limited context menu, and it's also a context menu for the text/input section only, not the search result item(s). It would be super useful if there was a way to do this!

Also: awesome idea to integrate this as the Windows start menu search! If only there was a way to bake this into the "Save-As" Windows Explorer dialogs, that would be a literal "Game Over" of functionality!

Minty
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2021 6:19 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by Minty » Sat Oct 30, 2021 8:02 pm

This is amazing. Works so well with PowerToys Keyboard Manager remapping Win+Space to Toolbar's hotkey (as I wasn't able to assign Win+Space in EverythingToolbar natively). Even replacing Start Menu search works great (though I found it not very useful... but it works).

So nice.

Rene
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 6:16 am

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by Rene » Thu Dec 02, 2021 3:28 am

does this work with vertical taskbar also ?

roadcone
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2021 8:18 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by roadcone » Tue Dec 07, 2021 6:13 pm

I am trying out Windows 11. Everything seems to work fine - just as it did on W10, but EverythingToolbar does not. Windows 11 does not (does not yet?) support additional toolbars so there is no apparent way to add this (or any) toolbar to the Taskbar.

raccoon
Posts: 735
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:24 am

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by raccoon » Sat Dec 11, 2021 12:57 am

If you want to use Deskbands in Windows 11, you will need to augment your desktop with aftermarket software and probably spend some money. I cannot tell you which of the tools support Deskbands yet.

https://youtu.be/GZPRrYLGrhI

horst.epp
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by horst.epp » Sat Dec 11, 2021 9:19 am

roadcone wrote:
Tue Dec 07, 2021 6:13 pm
I am trying out Windows 11. Everything seems to work fine - just as it did on W10, but EverythingToolbar does not. Windows 11 does not (does not yet?) support additional toolbars so there is no apparent way to add this (or any) toolbar to the Taskbar.
Install the add-on StartAllBack and you have all taskbar functions under Windows 11.
I use it successfully.

roadcone
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2021 8:18 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by roadcone » Sat Dec 11, 2021 9:39 am

Thank you horst.epp I'll look at that. At present I am using Wox as a front-end to Everything search and that does seem to be a different but workable approach on W10. I've not yet installed it on the W11 laptop (trying out a lesser machine before I decide whether to upgrade the main workhorse machine).

kazzybash
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:55 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by kazzybash » Sun Mar 13, 2022 11:25 am

hi ettb, all,

installed this deskband. Nice piece of work!!

Trying to make it work the way I want to.

One problem I stumble upon is that on opening I want it to show last modified files on all drives, except C:\ . How to achieve that is not yet clear to me.

Another is: I can select my own bookmarks from bookmarks.csv, but they do not work. That is: I can select them in the band, but they have no effect on the display of results.

Sounds familiar to anyone? If so, can it be solved?


Thanks a bunch in advance, regards, Kazzy

horst.epp
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by horst.epp » Sun Mar 13, 2022 2:49 pm

Start your search with !c:
this will exclude results from drive C:
You can also make an exclusion in Everything itself if you never want to see anything from C:
Instead of exclusion you can completely remove the drive c: from the index.

Bookmarks are only available in the GUI.
You can use macros instead.

void
Developer
Posts: 9818
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by void » Mon Mar 14, 2022 2:09 am

You will need Everything 1.5 alpha to access your bookmark macros.

You will also need to disable the alpha instance for the deskband to work with Everything 1.5.

kazzybash
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2020 9:55 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by kazzybash » Mon Mar 14, 2022 11:31 am

hi void, horst.epp, thanks for your replies!

last week I changed 1.5 to completely take the place of 1.4 disabling 1.5 (using your tutorial void). That works like a charm.

But the deskband effectively asked my where my bookmarks.csv file was. In the deskband on the 'topbezel' I do see 'more' under which I do find my own bookmarks.

Those do not work. From what I understand from you, this is correct.

I will figure out how to work with macros.

Kind regards, Kazzy

horst.epp
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by horst.epp » Mon Mar 14, 2022 11:47 am

The toolbar doesn't handle Bookmarks at all.
It would handle filters but only if you point it to a version 1.4 filters.csv
I just use a saved version from my old 1.4 installation.

user123
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:16 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by user123 » Sun Jul 31, 2022 10:17 pm

Can you make it someway more similar to PowerToys Run?
With an option to be launched with a shortcut and option to enable floating window that prioritizes programs and frequently used files when searching?
Screenshot_2022-08-01_01-16-27_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png
Screenshot_2022-08-01_01-16-27_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png (35.56 KiB) Viewed 4303 times
Or better yet could this be turned into a plugin for PowerToys Run?

horst.epp
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by horst.epp » Mon Aug 01, 2022 2:08 pm

user123 wrote:
Sun Jul 31, 2022 10:17 pm
Can you make it someway more similar to PowerToys Run?
With an option to be launched with a shortcut and option to enable floating window that prioritizes programs and frequently used files when searching?
Screenshot_2022-08-01_01-16-27_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png
Or better yet could this be turned into a plugin for PowerToys Run?
There is already a Everything plugin for Power Toys Run
which works fine for searching and supports all Everything function.
https://github.com/lin-ycv/EverythingPowerToys/releases

But Power Toys Run has one big disadvantage compared to the Everything Toolbar
It only contains a very limited number of actions you can do with a result.
In this form it will never be a replacement for me.
The problem is that this is part of the Run module and can't be changed by the Everything plugin.

Using the sort by Run count in the Everything toolbar
you get the behaviour you want.

ettb
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:28 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by ettb » Tue Aug 02, 2022 3:49 pm

user123 wrote:
Sun Jul 31, 2022 10:17 pm
Can you make it someway more similar to PowerToys Run?
With an option to be launched with a shortcut and option to enable floating window that prioritizes programs and frequently used files when searching?
Screenshot_2022-08-01_01-16-27_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png
Or better yet could this be turned into a plugin for PowerToys Run?
Adding more launcher-like features is currently not planned. On top of what horst.epp said I would suggest you to look into other applications like Wox that also support Everything search.

user123
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:16 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by user123 » Tue Aug 02, 2022 11:50 pm

horst.epp wrote:
Mon Aug 01, 2022 2:08 pm
user123 wrote:
Sun Jul 31, 2022 10:17 pm
Can you make it someway more similar to PowerToys Run?
With an option to be launched with a shortcut and option to enable floating window that prioritizes programs and frequently used files when searching?
Screenshot_2022-08-01_01-16-27_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png
Or better yet could this be turned into a plugin for PowerToys Run?
There is already a Everything plugin for Power Toys Run
which works fine for searching and supports all Everything function.
https://github.com/lin-ycv/EverythingPowerToys/releases

But Power Toys Run has one big disadvantage compared to the Everything Toolbar
It only contains a very limited number of actions you can do with a result.
In this form it will never be a replacement for me.
The problem is that this is part of the Run module and can't be changed by the Everything plugin.

Using the sort by Run count in the Everything toolbar
you get the behaviour you want.
Thanks, didn't know about Everything plugin for PTRun. But just found out it doesn't support Everything 1.5.
ettb wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 3:49 pm
user123 wrote:
Sun Jul 31, 2022 10:17 pm
Can you make it someway more similar to PowerToys Run?
With an option to be launched with a shortcut and option to enable floating window that prioritizes programs and frequently used files when searching?
Screenshot_2022-08-01_01-16-27_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png
Or better yet could this be turned into a plugin for PowerToys Run?
Adding more launcher-like features is currently not planned. On top of what horst.epp said I would suggest you to look into other applications like Wox that also support Everything search.
Wox seems to be abandoned though. Last update was in 2018..

horst.epp
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:24 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by horst.epp » Wed Aug 03, 2022 9:27 am

user123 wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 11:50 pm
Thanks, didn't know about Everything plugin for PTRun. But just found out it doesn't support Everything 1.5.
Thats wrong, it does work and you didn't read the info which said
"if you are on 1.5 alpha, you need to Disable 1.5a Instance"

Here the instructions from the Everything site:

Disable the 1.5a Instance

To use the Everything 1.4 SDK you will need to disable the "1.5a" instance.
This 1.5a instance will be removed when Everything 1.5 is ready for beta/release.

Completely exit out of Everything (right click the Everything system tray icon and click Exit)
Open your Everything-1.5a.ini file in the same location as your Everything64.exe
Add the following line to the end of the file:
alpha_instance=0
Save changes and restart Everything.
Everything will no longer use an instance name for window classes (IPC)
Everything will continue to use the 1.5a instance name for settings, data and the Everything Service.

NotNull
Posts: 3802
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by NotNull » Wed Aug 03, 2022 12:08 pm

user123 wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 11:50 pm
Wox seems to be abandoned though. Last update was in 2018..
For a list of other launchers that support Everything, see Which software has Everything integrated?

user123
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:16 pm

Re: EverythingToolbar - Everything deskband for the taskbar

Post by user123 » Thu Aug 04, 2022 3:22 am

horst.epp wrote:
Wed Aug 03, 2022 9:27 am
user123 wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 11:50 pm
Thanks, didn't know about Everything plugin for PTRun. But just found out it doesn't support Everything 1.5.
Thats wrong, it does work and you didn't read the info which said
"if you are on 1.5 alpha, you need to Disable 1.5a Instance"

Here the instructions from the Everything site:

Disable the 1.5a Instance

To use the Everything 1.4 SDK you will need to disable the "1.5a" instance.
This 1.5a instance will be removed when Everything 1.5 is ready for beta/release.

Completely exit out of Everything (right click the Everything system tray icon and click Exit)
Open your Everything-1.5a.ini file in the same location as your Everything64.exe
Add the following line to the end of the file:
alpha_instance=0
Save changes and restart Everything.
Everything will no longer use an instance name for window classes (IPC)
Everything will continue to use the 1.5a instance name for settings, data and the Everything Service.
Thanks. It works now, though PowerToys Run seems to be a lot worse than Wox when it comes to finding things through Everything...
Screenshot_2022-08-04_06-18-34_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png
Screenshot_2022-08-04_06-18-34_PowerToys.PowerLauncher.png (100.33 KiB) Viewed 3974 times
Screenshot_2022-08-04_06-19-09_Wox.png
Screenshot_2022-08-04_06-19-09_Wox.png (132.51 KiB) Viewed 3974 times

Post Reply